Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Computer logging help needed  (Read 3123 times)
W1JKA

Ignore
« on: October 28, 2013, 05:14:34 AM »

I have been given an old IBM ThinkPad with Window XP Professional installed. My computer expertise is limited to point, click and type. I am a casual operator and still use paper log books and would like to make use of this computer for basic manually entered contact info so I could just plug in call sign and see if I had QSOed with a station before. I'm NOT interested in any other functions i.e. contest logging, rig controls etc.. I have reviewed all logging programs available and all are way over kill with features I don't need. Are there other simple contact logging programs available that I might have missed or a format/program within XP that would fit my needs? Any advice appreciated, thanks.
W8JX

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2013, 06:08:42 AM »

I was in same boat a few years ago. I settle on winlog32. It is fairly straight forward and customizable to record info you want to save. I have mine set to automatically back up to a USB memory stick so if computer crashes log is safe. I also keep a copy of latest version of software on stick so I can insert stick in another computer and install software and recover log in minutes.

--------------------------------------
All posted wireless using Win 8.1 RT, a Android tablet using 4G/LTE/WiFi or Sprint Note 3.
W1JKA

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2013, 07:49:07 AM »

Re: W8JX

Thanks for timely response, checked out WinLog 32 again and decided to take my chances. Result was easier down load/install than I thought, just what I was looking for. One page transferred already and only 43 to go Smiley.Will also back up with memory stick, thanks again.   
KI7DG

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2013, 11:08:18 AM »