Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: FTDx-401 full carrier output on SSB...Help.!!  (Read 4066 times)
VE2BZG
Member

Posts: 36




Ignore
« on: August 24, 2013, 09:49:20 AM »

Hello guys...my old FTDx-401 works good as it should I guess on 80-40-20....but on 15 and 10 meters,after I tuned it and return to the usb or lsb mode it keeps it's full carrier output like if it would still be in the tune mode,even if I turn the power control way down...it did happened during the aligment...any ides what I can do??....need help....thanks in advance....Eric
Logged
AD4U
Member

Posts: 2174




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2013, 12:16:33 PM »

"It did happened during the alignment"........Not sure what that means.  Since is does not happen on the lower bands I doubt if it is a carrier null problem.  Have you checked for a parasitic oscillation?  Have you neutralized the finals?

Dick  AD4U
Logged
AD4U
Member

Posts: 2174




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2013, 05:33:24 PM »

PS:  Did you replace the 6KD6 finals?  In these rigs when the original Japanese finals are replaced with USA made finals, a capacitor in the neutralizing circuit has to be changed to a different value.  If not bad things can happen.

Dick  AD4U
Logged
VE2BZG
Member

Posts: 36




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2013, 07:04:22 PM »

Do you know the value of this capacitor???...Thanks
Logged
AD4U
Member

Posts: 2174




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: August 25, 2013, 05:24:34 AM »

In the FT-101 transceivers it was originally a 100pf.  In order to use USA tubes it has to be changed to 10pf.  Not sure if the same change applies to the 560, 570, and the 401 which are all basically the same rig.

Go the Fox Tango website for more info.

Dick  AD4U
Logged
KG6YV
Member

Posts: 515




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: August 25, 2013, 09:08:14 AM »

Your heterodyne oscillator adjustment is off.... I saw this on heathkits (SB101).... You need to move the slug until the output drops off, then peak it.  If you go past the peak point you
will see the oscillator abruptly shut off.... That's your problem.  You went too far.
Logged
G3RZP
Member

Posts: 4742




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: August 25, 2013, 01:50:42 PM »

KG6YV

if that was the case, it would apply on ALL bands!
Logged
KG6YV
Member

Posts: 515




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: August 26, 2013, 12:05:02 PM »

No, there are separate crystals and oscillator circuits for each band and on 10M each band segment...It would only affect the band segment with no oscillator output.
Logged
VE2BZG
Member

Posts: 36




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: August 26, 2013, 03:44:52 PM »

Thanks guys...will check this tomorrow and see if it solves it....will be back....Eric
Logged
VE2BZG
Member

Posts: 36




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: August 28, 2013, 02:28:27 AM »

I neutralized it...that's done....still full carrier on 10-15 meter on usb or lsb ...forgot to mention that receiving is almost totally dead on these two bands,can't barely hear the 100 kHz calibrating tone....hmmm..!!!
Logged
AD4U
Member

Posts: 2174




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: August 28, 2013, 08:54:38 AM »

As others and I posted earlier, make sure the power out is on the frequency indicated on the VFO dial.  Ideally you need a spectrum analyzer to actually "see" where the transmitted signal is located.  Another way is to loosely couple the carrier to a frequency counter.

If you lack access to both you can do quite well by operating your 401 into a dummy load and tuning another receiver to the frequency indicated on the VFO.  Is the carrier on that frequency or is it on another frequency quite far removed from the one indicated on the VFO.

What all of us are trying to determine is:

1.  Is this really a carrier issue

                   OR

2.  Is this some kind of parasitic oscillation

Dick  AD4U
Logged
VE2BZG
Member

Posts: 36




Ignore
« Reply #11 on: September 02, 2013, 09:57:39 AM »

Well guys,I got the 15 meters going...now here's the bad one...don't ask me how I did it but while I was aligning the 10 meters band I got the coils(2 on 4) smoking on the noise blanker unit(PB-1120a) now I got no receiving at all nowhere...is there a way to bypass this NB?? or is there someone that would have one to sell...the idea was to fix it believe it or not...lol...Eric
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!