Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Mobile 2M Simplex Conventions?  (Read 11008 times)
KI6VOS

Ignore
« on: September 15, 2013, 12:18:26 PM »

Hello...a Mobile Simplex Newbie here,

What is (or, are there?) "conventions" or "good amateur practices" regarding simplex communications when traveling?

Although I've never operated simplex while traveling -- because of a long trip coming up...I'd like to give it a shot...and want to ensure that I'm respectfully following expected protocols.

If one monitors 146.520*...calls "listening" a few times...and gets a response -- then what?

Is it "good amateur practice" to remain on 146.520? Or move to another simplex frequency? Or...what?

For example: In Northern California, the NARCC (Northern Amateur Relay Council of California) lists several simplex frequencies assignments between (~146.415 to ~146.595 and ~147.405 to ~147.585). That's the data...but how is it interpreted? While I understand these frequencies have been allocated for simplex...it's not clear to me how they are best (or, expected to be) used.

What are the expectations/protocols/good practices as to when to use a "non-calling" (e.g., other than 146.520) simplex frequency vs. a calling freq?

*IS 146.520 THE BEST CALLING FREQ?

Reading up on simplex prior to submitting this request, there are many (many!) posts on various Ham forums suggesting that 146.520 might not be widely monitored...and, in many locales, there are "local simplex calling" frequencies. If these reports are accurate, how would/could a traveller obtain information regarding "localized simplex calling"? Or...do you believe such reports are over-stated and 146.520 is as good as gold?

Thank you in advance for your comments and suggestions.

Best,
Rick

KI6VOS

KC7YRA

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2013, 12:34:44 PM »