Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Proper ID for portable ops question  (Read 878 times)
KC5MO

Ignore
« on: January 18, 2015, 08:49:56 AM »

Hello all,
 I am new to portable ops and have a question on how to best or most proper way to ID my station when responding to a CQ and my station has multiple scenarios going for it.
I will be operating in the call area of 7, QRP and of course portable. Should it be KC5MO/7or KC5MO/P. I'm not sure where the QRP should come into play because some stations will listen for QRP stations and hold all higher power stations for the QRP stations.

Sorry for the bad question.

KC5MO
K8AXW

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2015, 09:21:31 AM »

Good question.  One that comes up occasionally.  The answer is: KC5MO/7.

The QRP part of it isn't part of the FCC regulations.....it's simply a personal preference of what kind of power you wish to use.

Many QRP operators never use the QRP or any part of it when calling CQ, let alone when identifying.

In reality, many portable stations never identify as being portable.  At one time it was necessary to notify the FCC when extended portable operation was planned and where it was to be done.  Things have changed radically down through the years.

WB6BYU

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2015, 12:03:00 PM »

There is no requirement for identifying in any particular way, as long as you give your callsign.

Whether you choose to identify as QRP, Portable, or /7 is up to you, and likely depends on the
circumstances.  I have a WB6 call in Oregon - on 2m FM I just use my callsign, because it is
unlikely (though not impossible) that someone from California could hit the repeater.
During contests where my location may make a difference, I add /7 to make it clear that I'm
not in California.  I've never heard /P used to identify portable operation - back when we were