Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Solar Panel (Grid-tied) System and EMI / RFI  (Read 15745 times)
W6SDW

Ignore
« on: September 30, 2013, 12:58:13 PM »

I have been considering going solar, primarily to end up with known fixed monthly electric bill.  Soon to be "fixed income" individual, I'm looking into whatever I can do to fix costs.  As an amateur radio operator, I have real concerns regarding radiated emissions from inverter modules, buck/boost assemblies, etc. that are being used. (live in the SoCal area)

I've contacted several different companies offering solar, (Grid-tied systems) but I get a "deer-in-the-headlights" stare when I pose any EMI related questions.

I have done a little research - Compliance with Part 15 means virtually nada, zero, zip. Chinese assemblies (virtually) have little / no creditable radiated EMI info available -  assemblies vary widely.  Several European manufactured assemblies only reference the "Euro" compliances - whose technical documents seem to only be available at significant expense.

Are there some (any) of you out who have installed systems (5-7 KW) in the past 2 years that have proven to be (relatively) free of wide-band interference in the HF spectrum? 
If so, (besides being contained within a metal enclosure) what brand of inverter/charge components were used…

Your info / thoughts / experiences are welcome.     Regards,  Steve - W6SDW
WX7G

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2013, 02:27:12 PM »

Other hams have reported solar system EMI. I have recommended certain off-the-shelf EMI filters but have received no feedback.

WX7G, NARTE Certified EMC Engineer (and Military EMC consultant)
WB4SPT

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2013, 09:30:55 AM »

Several European manufactured assemblies only reference the "Euro" compliances - whose technical documents seem to only be available at significant expense.