Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: Prev 1 2 [3]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Forum philosophy statement needed!  (Read 18690 times)
N4TTS

Ignore
« Reply #30 on: November 12, 2013, 09:42:40 PM »

<snipper>Of course if your personal information, private PMs, or password got stolen because of the lack of security updates, you'd probably change your tune pretty quickly. <More snipping> I've got nearly ten years of experience with these issues.  Unless you have experience with administering SMF, you'd probably be better off talking about dipoles or something radio related.

Let's hear from one single person who has had their "personal" information compromised on this site.

I've had to endure this claptrap from the security "gurus" where I've worked for years (yes, I'm an IT professional with 30 plus years in the business, oooh. Hardware, infrastructure, security, application, database, IT project management). With almost zero exceptions, it normally proves to be the wolf criers attempting to justify their own existence. Absolutely there are instances where security patches and updates need to be installed to protect sensitive information. What the hell needs to be protected on this forum? The possibility someone's account could be compromised and an interloper could post bogus content? That would probably be a hell of a lot more entertaining than your boasting about your forum admin expertise.

Give it a rest. No one is impressed. Mainly disgusted and bored with your continuous prattle about how great a SMF forum genius you are.
It takes about two seconds to "research" the information you are crowing about by the way:

http://download.simplemachines.org/index.php?thanks;filename=smf_2-0-6_changelog.txt

Not rocket science...

Don N4TTS
N5INP

Ignore
« Reply #31 on: November 13, 2013, 04:21:53 AM »