Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: What is that crackling noise?  (Read 2701 times)
KD6OJG

Ignore
« on: November 04, 2013, 04:38:30 PM »

I'm still learning about all things Ham radio and I am going to ask a question that I've always hesitated to ask, because it seems like a really simplistic question...When you turn your rig on and you're just monitoring any given frequency and the squelch is turned down and you here that steady crackle that's always there --- What is it?  Sometimes it is very low and at other times it's almost deafening.  Even when you hear someone transmitting and their signal is strong and their voice is crystal clear, that crackling is always there, even underneath their voice.

K1CJS

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2013, 05:42:25 PM »

Background noise, better known as the noise floor.
AA4PB

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2013, 05:47:43 PM »

If you are hearing the noise even when a strong signal is present then it is more likely external noise being picked up by the antenna, perhaps generated by leaky insulators on power lines. Try disconnecting the antenna and turning the squelch down. What you should hear then is more like a steady "hiss" which is noise generated by the components in the receiver.
KD6OJG

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2013, 05:57:27 PM »

Background noise, better known as the noise floor.

Oh...thank you so much.  Now I have term and description to work with and research.

Here is my next question; Is this something that you can get rid of or is it just the nature of things and always omnipresent in radio communications?

Thanks,
AA4PB

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: November 05, 2013, 05:24:12 AM »