Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: Prev 1 [2]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: 3-500z  (Read 9839 times)
AD4U
Member

Posts: 2164




Ignore
« Reply #15 on: November 17, 2013, 06:04:49 AM »

sorry for delay I have a bad flu etc,yes we have 220 volts here and 50 hz,maybe i will just do with what i have power wise

Problem identified, not solved.   Smiley

Dick  AD4U
Logged
G3RZP
Member

Posts: 4557




Ignore
« Reply #16 on: November 17, 2013, 07:16:12 AM »

you are supposed to have 230volts -6 +10%, although 220 is just in that range. I haven't been able to find out if the SB220 kit supplied in Europe was 'Europeanised' as some Heathkits were: 50Hz, 230/240 volt transformers for example.
Logged
W8JX
Member

Posts: 5755




Ignore
« Reply #17 on: November 17, 2013, 07:16:30 AM »

sorry for delay I have a bad flu etc,yes we have 220 volts here and 50 hz,maybe i will just do with what i have power wise

Problem identified, not solved.   Smiley

Dick  AD4U

He should be able to get a modern compatible replacement transformer that is 50 hz compliant and has multiple taps for low line voltage for about the price of a pair of tubes.
Logged

--------------------------------------
All posted wireless using Win 8.1 RT, a Android tablet using 4G/LTE/WiFi or Sprint Note 3.
G3RZP
Member

Posts: 4557




Ignore
« Reply #18 on: November 17, 2013, 07:20:22 AM »

Maybe in the US! Over here in Europe, possibly, but I doubt it.
Logged
W8JX
Member

Posts: 5755




Ignore
« Reply #19 on: November 17, 2013, 07:36:56 AM »

Maybe in the US! Over here in Europe, possibly, but I doubt it.

He could order one from a say even a AL 80b. As long as he did not exceed 1000 watts it should do fine.
Logged

--------------------------------------
All posted wireless using Win 8.1 RT, a Android tablet using 4G/LTE/WiFi or Sprint Note 3.
G3RZP
Member

Posts: 4557




Ignore
« Reply #20 on: November 17, 2013, 02:00:36 PM »

Cheaper would be to get a 10 or 20 volt secondary, 10 amp transformer with a 230 volt primary: put the secondary in series aiding with the input to get 230 to 240 volts. Regrettably, EI land is even more expensive than G or F land, and Lord only knows, we're bad enough!
Logged
KC4MOP
Member

Posts: 733




Ignore
« Reply #21 on: November 19, 2013, 03:37:42 AM »

If this amplifier has been yours from day 1 and your line voltage is where it's supposed to be; then maybe it is time for new electrolytic caps in the PS.
I'm guessing that the HV was higher at one time and now it is drifting down?
The proper taps on the transformer are selected?
fred
Logged
KC4MOP
Member

Posts: 733




Ignore
« Reply #22 on: November 19, 2013, 04:32:08 PM »

I think you have 230V, 50 Hz power there.

Not so sure the SB-220 transformer is rated to operate at 50 Hz, and you may be taking a bit of a "hit" there in efficiency.
Yup something to think about!  If that linear was shipped from the USA, the transformer is probably 60hz and 50hz is not goodness.
here is a link for running a 60hz transformer on 50hz:
http://www.edn.com/electronics-blogs/powersource/4307945/Specifying-a-Transformer-Why-does-50Hz-make-such-a-difference-
Logged
K8AXW
Member

Posts: 3827




Ignore
« Reply #23 on: November 19, 2013, 08:18:24 PM »

MOP:  Thank you for that link.  I've always known that a 60Hz transformer would run hot at 50Hz but never knew why! 

Which brings up an off topic question:  Why do the Europeans run 50Hz power systems?  Smaller metal stacks in the generators & transformers?

Logged
N7BMW
Member

Posts: 117




Ignore
« Reply #24 on: November 19, 2013, 09:07:05 PM »


Which brings up an off topic question:  Why do the Europeans run 50Hz power systems?  Smaller metal stacks in the generators & transformers?


Because they get to spin their generators at 1500 RPM instead of 1800 as we do in the 60Hz world.
Logged
G3RZP
Member

Posts: 4557




Ignore
« Reply #25 on: November 20, 2013, 01:32:45 AM »

Motors are more efficient because the eddy currents are less, which is why several railways originally went to 16-2/3Hz, even though more iron is needed. Not so much of a problem these days. Meanwhile, for real standardisation, look at the systems the AMTRAK train from Washington DC to Boston uses. Washington DC to NYC is 12kV, 25Hz. NYC to New Haven is 12.5kV 60Hz, and New Haven to Boston is 25kV 60Hz.

I don't know if the SB220s sold in Europe were shipped from the US, or whether (as happened with other Heathkits) much of the kit was, but such items as transformers were locally sourced and were 50Hz transformers - saved a lot in shipping weight.

Japan has part of the country on 50Hz and part on 60Hz, while in the late 60's in France, it was 50Hz but the same 2 pin, no earth, plug and socket were used for both 110 AND 220 volt supplies!
Logged
Pages: Prev 1 [2]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!