Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Yaesu FT-8900 Quad band...6m FM and 10m FM???? How useful ?????  (Read 6434 times)
KC3BCW

Ignore
« on: November 12, 2013, 11:13:22 AM »

I am a new Technician with just an HT, and am considering my next purchase. The Yaesu 8900 quad band mobile receiver caught my eye since it is currently priced around $385 w separation kit, after rebate, and therefore not that much more than a name brand dual band mobile.

In the last 3 months I have learned a bit about 2m and 44o, and even tried Echolink...but I am still a newbie.

I was wondering how Useful 6m and 10m FM are??? I currently live at the coast near Ocean City, MD which is FLAT country....I can routinely hit 2 m repeaters with my Baofeng HT at 20+ miles and occasionally at 30+ miles. Doing a search of 6m repeaters, it looks like the closest ones are about 100 miles to the north and west.
How much activity is there on 6m and 10 m FM and what is the expected distance that is reasonable under "normal" conditions as well as "good" conditions???
What is reasonable mobile to mobile distances???

I would plan on using the radio up in my car, as well as in the house where I could get an antenna up around 35ft ASL.
M6GOM

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2013, 11:34:33 AM »

Not much activity on FM on 6 and 10m.
KC3BCW

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2013, 11:42:59 AM »

"what is the expected distance that is reasonable under "normal" conditions as well as "good" conditions???

What is reasonable mobile to mobile distances???"
W4KYR

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2013, 05:11:36 PM »