Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: HELP !! With Fox Hunting ????  (Read 15216 times)
DEEGAN2909

Ignore
« on: November 18, 2013, 09:00:11 AM »

I'm going to start off by saying I'm a complete and utter newbie so please don't get frustrated if I seem a little thick. However, I'm just grasping basics of radio
I'm looking to make a device that will help find trapped people in the dark in particular metal (steel) areas. From around 1.5M. So i thought the easiest way to so would be to use a cable tracer set up. So i found this;

http://www.pic101.com/foxhound/index.html

Looks really good. But i have no idea how it works or if it will be any good??? I also thought about using radar which was even bigger head ache.

So i was wondering if you could help me the following;
-How does this device work ?
-Is it any good for my purpose ?
-Would Radar be better given my level of experience/needs ?

I appreciate  any help whats so ever.  Smiley Smiley Smiley
WB6BYU

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2013, 10:12:28 AM »

That particular device is used to identify a particular wire in a cable.  So, for
example, if you have a bundle of 44 wires and attach the signal source to one of
them, you can use the detector at the other end to determine which of the
wires is the right one.  Because of the sensitivity of the detector you may be
able to do this by touching the probe to the wire insulation without needing to
strip the wire.  This is handy for electricians fixing wiring, etc.

It works when the source and detector are connected by a wire, or very close
to that - it might detect within 1/4" or so of the wire, but not a lot further than
that.  So if everyone dragged a 20' wire behind them connected to a transmitter,
you would have a chance of finding the wire, but it wouldn't tell you the direction