Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Bencher BY-1 wiring plug  (Read 1743 times)
KT4DLB

Ignore
« on: August 23, 2014, 05:34:35 PM »

I have recently bought a used Bencher BY-1 iambic keyer that came with the wire and plug. I have a Yaesu FT-897D radio that I will be using it with. I'm new to CW and am in the process of learning CW at LCWO.com and slowly making progress. When I plug in the cw plug off of the Bencher BY-1 it don't seem like it is right. The dash paddle works but the dit or dot paddle don't. I check the wiring on the keyer and the dit or dot side is connected to the front tip of the plug and the dash is connected to the 2nd ring on plug. But when I touch the third ring and the first ring it shows short on the ohm meter. Is this suppose to be this way?

73's

D Brown
K8AXW

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2014, 06:05:14 PM »

First of all forget the existing plug.  It's hard to tell what it's been wired for!!

Open the plug body and connect your ohmmeter to the wires connected to the plug....with the ground (black meter lead) connected to the ground of the Bencher.  Use the red lead to find which wire gives you a reading when you hit the dit side.  Then without assuming anything, find the wire that gives you a reading when you hit the dah side of the Bencher.

Mark down these findings.

Then look at your 897D manual and see where these wires go and then wire your plug as necessary.  You should have a plug (called a Stereo Plug) with a tip, a ring and the barrel; the barrel is always the ground.

Since I don't have either the Bencher or the 897D, I am just assuming that it uses a stereo plug and not some other type plug.  If the rig does take some other type plug, you simply wire it accordingly.  You have only three wires to work with.