Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: CLif - TS-850 Noise Blanker mod  (Read 2328 times)
N4NYY

Ignore
« on: February 10, 2014, 03:55:02 PM »

Clif,

Friend of mine purchased a stock TS-850. I have read about the NB mod removing the 2 SMD caps. Is this really an effective mod? I want to hear it from the horse's mouth. I hate taking those mod opinions as gospel.
KA5IPF

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2014, 05:36:33 PM »

Honestly I don't know. I have never done a "before and after" comparison. Don't know why, just haven't. I have done the mod a lot by request and never had anyone come back and say it didn't work. Conversely I've never had anyone say it did either.

I realize not the answer you were wanting but the best I can do. I do have a couple in here so I could do a comparison. Now my curiosity is up.

Clif
N4NYY

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2014, 06:11:26 PM »

Honestly I don't know. I have never done a "before and after" comparison. Don't know why, just haven't. I have done the mod a lot by request and never had anyone come back and say it didn't work. Conversely I've never had anyone say it did either.

I realize not the answer you were wanting but the best I can do. I do have a couple in here so I could do a comparison. Now my curiosity is up.

Clif

Do not bother. I just wanted to see if you had noticed. I just don't like hacking radios. Granted this is not a transmit or receive mod. 
N4ATS

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2014, 05:51:09 AM »