Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: What vintage radio would you recommend?  (Read 7806 times)
W5RBB

Ignore
« on: February 26, 2014, 09:08:45 AM »

Thinking of getting a classic looking radio, think it could be fun to have some vintage equipment. What would you recommend to get or look for? Would prefer a tube over solid state. Looked at the Yaesu FT101 but thinking there could be a nice gem I don't know about being I am still fairly new to this. But I like the vintage old school look, and it would be fun to use on certain band but not all the time just to get that feel. Plus I would think it would make me a better ham operator as well learning the tuning and knob turning over just pushing buttons and the nuance of the whole process.
KD8IIC

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2014, 10:10:43 AM »

Find something one can still obtain service parts and tubes for. Avoid anything that uses TV sweep tubes (FT-101's) as those are about extinct and high priced if you can find them. Drake equipment is plentiful, fairly priced, tubes and parts are still available along with many knowledgeable people around to help and or repair. 73
AD4U

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2014, 11:09:45 AM »

Find something one can still obtain service parts and tubes for. Avoid anything that uses TV sweep tubes (FT-101's) as those are about extinct and high priced if you can find them. Drake equipment is plentiful, fairly priced, tubes and parts are still available along with many knowledgeable people around to help and or repair. 73

I agree that Drake gear performs up with the best.  Just remember that Drake T4 series transmitters and TR4 series transceivers also use sweep tubes for finals 6JB6A or 12JB6A.

Dick  AD4U
KD8IIC

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2014, 11:25:33 PM »