Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Programming HT for Doppler effect  (Read 999 times)
S109

Ignore
« on: March 14, 2014, 03:47:37 PM »

Hello,

I'm new to working satellites and I don't really seem to be having much luck in just hearing anyone. I'm using a Kenwood TH-F7E and I've recently got the Arrow antenna. I use GoSatWatch to track the satellites, normally listen to AO-73. I have my HT programmed with the memory channels starting with 145.950, 955, 960, 965 ending with 145.970. With the satellite at its highest point I should be hearing people around 145.960 correct ? I am hearing people but can never really fine tune the signal so I can't make out the call sign etc. Should I program the HT with finer gaps, how do you program your spacing for the satellite rx frequencies ?

Thanks. 

M6SWA/2E0SNJ
WD9EWK

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2014, 04:50:51 PM »

Hello,

I'm new to working satellites and I don't really seem to be having much luck in just hearing anyone. I'm using a Kenwood TH-F7E and I've recently got the Arrow antenna. I use GoSatWatch to track the satellites, normally listen to AO-73. I have my HT programmed with the memory channels starting with 145.950, 955, 960, 965 ending with 145.970. With the satellite at its highest point I should be hearing people around 145.960 correct ? I am hearing people but can never really fine tune the signal so I can't make out the call sign etc. Should I program the HT with finer gaps, how do you program your spacing for the satellite rx frequencies ?

Thanks.