eHam

eHam Forums => VHF / UHF => Topic started by: AA4PB on September 07, 2017, 08:09:26 AM



Title: Your FT8 power on 6M?
Post by: AA4PB on September 07, 2017, 08:09:26 AM
I'm interested in knowing how much power other FT8 stations are running on 6M and what their normal noise level is. I run 75W to a 5el Yagi at 60 feet but I consistently give 6dB better reports than I receive. I do have a very low noise level (my S meter usually reads very close to S0 with the highest gain preamp selected on the receiver) and I expect that accounts for the difference. I would have to go up to 300W output in order to make up that average 6dB difference.


Title: RE: Your FT8 power on 6M?
Post by: K0UA on September 07, 2017, 08:31:33 AM
I'm interested in knowing how much power other FT8 stations are running on 6M and what their normal noise level is. I run 75W to a 5el Yagi at 60 feet but I consistently give 6dB better reports than I receive. I do have a very low noise level (my S meter usually reads very close to S0 with the highest gain preamp selected on the receiver) and I expect that accounts for the difference. I would have to go up to 300W output in order to make up that average 6dB difference.


I typically run 100 watts to a two element Moxon at 45 feet.  I have a fairly low noise level in some directions and some not so much.


Title: RE: Your FT8 power on 6M?
Post by: WB8VLC on September 07, 2017, 08:46:54 AM
on 6 meters 600 watts to a 6 el OWA yagi.

On hf a minimum of 500 watts to phased 40 verticals, a 2 el moxon on 15 and 500 watts, a 4 element OWA on  10 and 500 watts.

If you have ever operated 6 meters or for that matter any bands from the pacific northwest you learn to use more than a couple of hundred watts or forget about making contacts.

 My noise floor on 6meter is s1-2,  it is s3 on 15/10meters and s4 on 40.

For 40 meters I use either a pennant or a wellar Flag active receive antenna otherwise the noise on phased verts is around s8.


Title: RE: Your FT8 power on 6M?
Post by: W5NZ on September 10, 2017, 11:08:58 AM
I run 5w into a 3el yagi located in my attic. Worked 24 states on 6m with this configuration over the past month or so.  Usually run 1w on hf.  Haven't really found the need to work QRO at this point.  My noise level is S0-S1 on my FTdx-5000MP w/o any preamps engaged.  My signal reports usually run 6db less that what I send.    73 de W5NZ !


Title: RE: Your FT8 power on 6M?
Post by: AA2UK on September 16, 2017, 11:03:20 AM
When operating MSK144 or FT8 on 6 meters I tun 600-700 watts to a 2 element Moxon.
AA2UK


Title: RE: Your FT8 power on 6M?
Post by: K0UA on September 16, 2017, 01:48:31 PM
On MSK144, I run 100, and wish for 600.   :)   I lost count of the times I could copy the "big dogs", and they can't hear me.  Not that I haven't worked a lot of states on MSK144 on 6 meters, but some power really helps with the "pings".


Title: RE: Your FT8 power on 6M?
Post by: KB2FCV on September 19, 2017, 11:41:31 AM
I run 100w to a 3el M2 on 6m. I need to look at better antennas before I consider an amp on that band.


Title: RE: Your FT8 power on 6M?
Post by: AA2UK on September 22, 2017, 01:02:11 PM
I run 100w to a 3el M2 on 6m. I need to look at better antennas before I consider an amp on that band.
If you have limited space and you are decoding fine a 3db improvement to the 3 element Yagi might increase the need for a more robust rotor and mast. Once you start getting into the larger rotor's and mast it could cost more than an amplifier which could give you 6db over the 50dbm you currently run. Large antennas can be a hindrance when running meteor scatter.
Just something to think about.
AA2UK, Bill


Title: RE: Your FT8 power on 6M?
Post by: WB4M on October 18, 2017, 03:08:57 PM
50 to 100 watts.  I rarely call anyone on 6 who does not answer.