eHam

eHam Forums => VHF / UHF => Topic started by: AA4PB on September 07, 2017, 08:09:26 AM



Title: Your FT8 power on 6M?
Post by: AA4PB on September 07, 2017, 08:09:26 AM
I'm interested in knowing how much power other FT8 stations are running on 6M and what their normal noise level is. I run 75W to a 5el Yagi at 60 feet but I consistently give 6dB better reports than I receive. I do have a very low noise level (my S meter usually reads very close to S0 with the highest gain preamp selected on the receiver) and I expect that accounts for the difference. I would have to go up to 300W output in order to make up that average 6dB difference.


Title: RE: Your FT8 power on 6M?
Post by: K0UA on September 07, 2017, 08:31:33 AM
I'm interested in knowing how much power other FT8 stations are running on 6M and what their normal noise level is. I run 75W to a 5el Yagi at 60 feet but I consistently give 6dB better reports than I receive. I do have a very low noise level (my S meter usually reads very close to S0 with the highest gain preamp selected on the receiver) and I expect that accounts for the difference. I would have to go up to 300W output in order to make up that average 6dB difference.


I typically run 100 watts to a two element Moxon at 45 feet.  I have a fairly low noise level in some directions and some not so much.


Title: RE: Your FT8 power on 6M?
Post by: WB8VLC on September 07, 2017, 08:46:54 AM
on 6 meters 600 watts to a 6 el OWA yagi.

On hf a minimum of 500 watts to phased 40 verticals, a 2 el moxon on 15 and 500 watts, a 4 element OWA on  10 and 500 watts.

If you have ever operated 6 meters or for that matter any bands from the pacific northwest you learn to use more than a couple of hundred watts or forget about making contacts.

 My noise floor on 6meter is s1-2,  it is s3 on 15/10meters and s4 on 40.

For 40 meters I use either a pennant or a wellar Flag active receive antenna otherwise the noise on phased verts is around s8.


Title: RE: Your FT8 power on 6M?
Post by: W5NZ on September 10, 2017, 11:08:58 AM
I run 5w into a 3el yagi located in my attic. Worked 24 states on 6m with this configuration over the past month or so.  Usually run 1w on hf.  Haven't really found the need to work QRO at this point.  My noise level is S0-S1 on my FTdx-5000MP w/o any preamps engaged.  My signal reports usually run 6db less that what I send.    73 de W5NZ !


Title: RE: Your FT8 power on 6M?
Post by: AA2UK on September 16, 2017, 11:03:20 AM
When operating MSK144 or FT8 on 6 meters I tun 600-700 watts to a 2 element Moxon.
AA2UK


Title: RE: Your FT8 power on 6M?
Post by: K0UA on September 16, 2017, 01:48:31 PM
On MSK144, I run 100, and wish for 600.   :)   I lost count of the times I could copy the "big dogs", and they can't hear me.  Not that I haven't worked a lot of states on MSK144 on 6 meters, but some power really helps with the "pings".


Title: RE: Your FT8 power on 6M?
Post by: KB2FCV on September 19, 2017, 11:41:31 AM
I run 100w to a 3el M2 on 6m. I need to look at better antennas before I consider an amp on that band.


Title: RE: Your FT8 power on 6M?
Post by: AA2UK on September 22, 2017, 01:02:11 PM
I run 100w to a 3el M2 on 6m. I need to look at better antennas before I consider an amp on that band.
If you have limited space and you are decoding fine a 3db improvement to the 3 element Yagi might increase the need for a more robust rotor and mast. Once you start getting into the larger rotor's and mast it could cost more than an amplifier which could give you 6db over the 50dbm you currently run. Large antennas can be a hindrance when running meteor scatter.
Just something to think about.
AA2UK, Bill


Title: RE: Your FT8 power on 6M?
Post by: WB4M on October 18, 2017, 03:08:57 PM
50 to 100 watts.  I rarely call anyone on 6 who does not answer.


Title: RE: Your FT8 power on 6M?
Post by: KM1H on October 25, 2017, 03:22:56 PM
Im not on FT8 yet but pretty soon as soon as I score a Kenwood SO-1 or SO-2 TCXO. I can run up to 20W from the transverter and the NCL-2000 I converted to 6 in 1964 will do up to 1300W. The current antenna is a modified Cushcraft 617B with 8 el on the original boom at 60'. DXCC is over 160 but Ive lost track.

I also have a Clegg Zeus and Interceptor B for good quality AM.

Carl


Title: RE: Your FT8 power on 6M?
Post by: W1VT on October 26, 2017, 07:11:53 AM
I worked Poland with 400 watts to a 4 element Yagi at 20 feet.  
I always have the amp on when trying to work more than 4000 km on E skip.
Either the path is barely there or I need to fight my way through a pileup.
Sometimes both.  

If the band ever opens from Hawaii or Alaska to New England again I expect the pileups to be huge!

Zack W1VT


Title: RE: Your FT8 power on 6M?
Post by: KB2FCV on October 26, 2017, 12:23:33 PM
I run 100w to a 3el M2 on 6m. I need to look at better antennas before I consider an amp on that band.
If you have limited space and you are decoding fine a 3db improvement to the 3 element Yagi might increase the need for a more robust rotor and mast. Once you start getting into the larger rotor's and mast it could cost more than an amplifier which could give you 6db over the 50dbm you currently run. Large antennas can be a hindrance when running meteor scatter.
Just something to think about.
AA2UK, Bill

The 3el M2 yagi is as large as I would go in its present location. It replaced the TV antenna on the chimney and it's using a lightweight AR-22 rotor (the previous TV antenna had an old crusty AR-22 and weighted about the same). I feel anything larger would stress the chimney. I prefer not to use the chimney if I can avoid it but I figured I was safe since it was the same weight and probably less wind loading than what was up there before. It's been up there 6-7 years with no issues so far.

To make an antenna improvement I would probably be adding a self-supporting tower, a tri-bander for HF, a bigger rotor, and a bigger 6m antenna on top (all of which I have laying around.. except for the bigger 6m antenna). A tower / beam is a backup plan if I can't move forward with a dish for EME (long story). Anyways, with my present setup I find with the openings I can usually work whatever I can hear... so I figure the next logical improvement is to hear more so I can work more. I didn't realize large antennas can be a hindrance for meteor scatter.. is that due to a more narrow beam pattern?


Title: RE: Your FT8 power on 6M?
Post by: AA2UK on October 27, 2017, 03:40:01 PM
Yes running a narrow beam width can result in missed random calls.
73, AA2UK
Bill


Title: RE: Your FT8 power on 6M?
Post by: KM1H on October 28, 2017, 07:57:39 AM
Thats why I swing the antenna to new headings when scouring Europe and beyond or any other place on the planet. It is very quiet, doesnt miss much and anything really good is spotted on a DX cluster anyway.

I did have a very broad antenna up for several years in the 90's, a 16el Cushcraft collinear fixed on EU. Only a few were built and mine came from Wayne Green, W2NSD/1 via Jack Wilson, W1QXX who used it after Wayne.
It heard everything including every noise source in Europe and off the back. A 3 el yagi isnt much better in that regard.

Carl