eHam

eHam Forums => Computers And Software => Topic started by: KM3K on March 28, 2010, 06:23:14 AM



Title: bits in Vista??
Post by: KM3K on March 28, 2010, 06:23:14 AM
What is the key to finding out if my Vista is 32 or 64 bits?
I'm sure it is simple but I've not yet found it.
Jerry KM3K


Title: RE: bits in Vista??
Post by: W8LGZ on March 28, 2010, 10:16:11 PM
Here's how Microsoft says to do it:

Windows Vista
If you have Windows Vista, there are two methods to determine whether you are running a 32-bit or a 64-bit version. If one does not work, try the other.
Method 1: View System window in Control Panel

   1. Click Start
      Collapse this imageExpand this image
      Start button
      , type system in the Start Search box, and then click system in the Programs list.
   2. The operating system is displayed as follows:
          * For a 64-bit version operating system: 64-bit Operating System appears for the System type under System.
          * For a 32-bit version operating system: 32-bit Operating System appears for the System type under System.

Method 2: View System Information window

   1. Click Start
      Collapse this imageExpand this image
      Start button
      , type system in the Start Search box, and then click System Information in the Programs list.
   2. When System Summary is selected in the navigation pane, the operating system is displayed as follows:
          * For a 64-bit version operating system: x64-based PC appears for the System type under Item.
          * For a 32-bit version operating system: x86-based PC appears for the System type under Item.


73, Jim


Title: RE: bits in Vista??
Post by: KM3K on March 29, 2010, 05:48:58 AM
Thank-you.
Both methods worked; I have the 32-bit version.
I liked Method #1 better because it clearly states it is a 32-bit system.
Before I asked for help, in retrospect, I had actually done your method #2 but, as you pointed out, the display only reports "x86 based", which to the unknowing person means nothing.
BTW, I needed to know the bits in order to download a correct version of a driver.
Thanks again.
Jerry KM3K


Title: RE: bits in Vista??
Post by: W8LGZ on April 05, 2010, 09:34:17 PM
You're welcome.

Jim