eHam

eHam Forums => Elmers => Topic started by: WH6DIQ on May 21, 2011, 03:22:11 PM



Title: FT897 power supplies
Post by: WH6DIQ on May 21, 2011, 03:22:11 PM
OK, just dropped a bundle on first HF rig, so being cautious here...and, since the Yaesu manual is somewhat lacking:

I have the FP30 power supply; CD24 charger; PA26 charger adapter; two FNB78's.

1) Can the FP30 be used with the FNB78's installed in the rig?
       1a) I will mostly be using the FP30, if #1 is yes, is the heat an adverse factor for life of the FNB's?

2) If #1 is yes, will the pigtail from the FP30 power the CD24, thereby eliminating need for PA26?

3) If #1 is yes, can the FNB's be charging from the CD24/PA26 while rig is operating on FP30?

Thanks, and 73!


Title: RE: FT897 power supplies
Post by: KD8DEY on May 21, 2011, 04:46:25 PM
Nope. the batteries take up the space where the power supply would otherwise go.

2 options/suggestions

1 Return the fp-30 power supply/Pa-26 adapter and buy an Astron 35 (or other supply) to power the rig and charge the batteries using a second yaesu rig type power cord (frees up an outlet) from the supply into the CD-24.

2 Return the batteries/charger/adaptor and hope you are always close to a wall outlet

73


Title: RE: FT897 power supplies
Post by: WH6DIQ on May 21, 2011, 06:02:45 PM
OK, thanks, that is what I thought when I unpacked, but since I didn't want to wait for the batts to charge, I just installed the fp30 and started playing...

So, as follow up, can I charge the batts outside of the radio with the CD24/PA26 individually?

I really appreciate the help...


Title: RE: FT897 power supplies
Post by: KD8DEY on May 22, 2011, 03:58:55 PM
Sure you can charge the batteries outside the radio But how many times are you going to be able to swap the power supply for the battery packs before the threads on the radio start to strip?

I have a D model running fine on an RS-35M and batteries installed, cd-24 powered by the astron using a 2nd power connector. all I have to do is unplug and go...


Title: RE: FT897 power supplies
Post by: WH6DIQ on May 23, 2011, 03:15:12 PM
Good point...not to mention it is a slight PITA. I wish I would have caught this little glitch before I ordered...oh well. I'll probably make do for now, then look at a separate power supply next year. Thanks for the advice!