eHam

eHam Forums => Elmers => Topic started by: VE3FMC on May 29, 2011, 10:23:05 AM



Title: LOW OUTPUT POWER, ICOM 7000
Post by: VE3FMC on May 29, 2011, 10:23:05 AM
I recently hooked my Icom 7000 back up for 6 and 2 meter use the other day. It had been sitting on the shelf for a couple of months since I use my FT-950 as my main rig.

Right away I noticed the 6 meter output was only 50 watts on SSB and FM.

The output was also down somewhat from 20-10 meters into a dummy load.

I contacted Icom Canada about this issue since my rig is still under warranty until the end of November of this year.

I was advised that the drop in power was likely due to a weak driver.

I was prepared to ship the rig back for repair until I read about someone else having the same problem on the Yahoo Icom 7000 forum.

Someone advised to remove the fuses in the power cord, clean them and put them back in.

Lo and behold that solved the low power output. The guy who posted that fix said this is a common issue with the fuses in the 7000. Icom has not acknowledged this to be a problem.

So I am passing this along in case anyone else has the same problem. Pull the fuses in the power cord, clean them and put them back in and see if that helps.


Title: RE: LOW OUTPUT POWER, ICOM 7000
Post by: N4NYY on May 29, 2011, 11:04:20 AM
I am curious how this turns out. Icom has had a bad rep with their PA lately.


Title: RE: LOW OUTPUT POWER, ICOM 7000
Post by: AD5X on May 29, 2011, 11:07:40 AM
Or you can do like I did with my IC-706MKIIG.  I cut out those lousy cartridge fuse holders and spliced in automotive fuse holders (Mouser 504-BK/HHG).

Phil - AD5X


Title: RE: LOW OUTPUT POWER, ICOM 7000
Post by: N4NYY on May 29, 2011, 12:58:54 PM
Quote
Or you can do like I did with my IC-706MKIIG.  I cut out those lousy cartridge fuse holders and spliced in automotive fuse holders (Mouser 504-BK/HHG).

I would not do that until the unit is out of warranty. However, if that is the fix, after the warranty, I would do it the minute it need to be done.


Title: RE: LOW OUTPUT POWER, ICOM 7000
Post by: N4CR on May 29, 2011, 02:57:38 PM
You really think that cutting into the power cord on an amateur radio will void your warranty?


Title: RE: LOW OUTPUT POWER, ICOM 7000
Post by: VE3FMC on May 29, 2011, 03:53:55 PM
You really think that cutting into the power cord on an amateur radio will void your warranty?

In this day and age who knows? But you would not ship the radio back if under warranty with the power cord. At least I would not bother doing that.


Title: RE: LOW OUTPUT POWER, ICOM 7000
Post by: N4CR on May 29, 2011, 08:36:42 PM
In this day and age who knows? But you would not ship the radio back if under warranty with the power cord. At least I would not bother doing that.

I would not hesitate for one second to cut into a harness and do anything I pleased with it. No company in their right mind would care. If a company made it known that buyers could not modify the wiring harness they would soon be out of this business.


Title: RE: LOW OUTPUT POWER, ICOM 7000
Post by: N4NYY on May 30, 2011, 06:11:51 AM
Quote
You really think that cutting into the power cord on an amateur radio will void your warranty?

I would assume not. But who the hell knows. Besides, in my dealings with Icom, I would think they would void the warranty, because they can and they want to.


Title: RE: LOW OUTPUT POWER, ICOM 7000
Post by: KE3WD on May 30, 2011, 06:52:44 AM
Quote
You really think that cutting into the power cord on an amateur radio will void your warranty?

I would assume not. But who the hell knows. Besides, in my dealings with Icom, I would think they would void the warranty, because they can and they want to.

Just don't ship the power cord with the unit if you ever have to send it in for warranty service. 

BTW -  In the warranty shops where I've worked over the years, that kind of power connector harness has never been used to void a warranty, we put the warranty seals on the case of the unit itself and the power umbilical is outside of that case.  Moss-Magnuson act if you are stateside. 

In my personal experience, in all these years doing service work at different shops, on all sorts of consumer products, I have personally witnessed so few cases of actual warranty voiding that they are memorable.  In most cases, all the customer would have to do is complain a bit louder - and the company will authorize the repair anyway.  So many approach the counter with conspiracy in mind these days, everywhere I've ever worked, we try to make the customer happy, we do not try to void warranties.   Can say the same for most all of the parent companies we have done the warranty service contracting for. 


73


Title: RE: LOW OUTPUT POWER, ICOM 7000
Post by: WR0F on February 27, 2013, 05:07:28 AM
 Well I checked out my ICOM 7000 this morning after seeing the LOW OUTPUT  of 70 watts on 10 meters .
I did remove the 2 inline fuses  and cleaned them. Immediately my power jumped back up to 100 watts .
This did solve the problem.


Title: RE: LOW OUTPUT POWER, ICOM 7000
Post by: KE3WD on February 27, 2013, 07:04:00 AM
Well I checked out my ICOM 7000 this morning after seeing the LOW OUTPUT  of 70 watts on 10 meters .
I did remove the 2 inline fuses  and cleaned them. Immediately my power jumped back up to 100 watts .
This did solve the problem.

And, it did NOT void the Warranty. 

Fine Business

EnJOY


73


Title: RE: LOW OUTPUT POWER, ICOM 7000
Post by: WA2JSG on October 09, 2013, 08:27:24 PM
It worked!  Noticed power down on my '7000. Cleaned fuses and voila!  Back up above 100 watts!


Title: RE: LOW OUTPUT POWER, ICOM 7000
Post by: G8JNJ on October 11, 2013, 07:27:56 AM
Hi All,

Note that this isn't just an Icom problem.

All Tranceivers with a DC input cable and in-line glass bodied fuses, tend to suffer from it.

I've soldered my fuses into their clips. No problems since.

If they blow it will be for a reason.

So I'm not worried about having to swap them out quickly.

Regards,

Martin - G8JNJ

www.g8jnj.webs.com


Title: RE: LOW OUTPUT POWER, ICOM 7000
Post by: K6AER on October 12, 2013, 07:51:05 PM
Everyone is missing the elephant in the room. What was the voltage going into the transceiver? 12.5 to 14.0 volts can be 50 watts output difference. Yes a bad connection or resistive fuse can act as a dropping resistor and limit the voltage at the radio.


Title: RE: LOW OUTPUT POWER, ICOM 7000
Post by: N4ZY on November 06, 2013, 07:13:34 AM
Thanks for the low power reply. I have a 756 pro 3 that I have sent in for this same problem. it comes back from repair and is a o.k. then it happens again. I just read your post about cleaning fuses. and Behold. it cured my problems. thanks to a bunch of Good OPS . I feel much better.
                Thanks to All.
            JIM N4ZY


Title: RE: LOW OUTPUT POWER, ICOM 7000
Post by: WA7KGX on November 08, 2013, 04:10:04 AM
Or you can do like I did with my IC-706MKIIG.  I cut out those lousy cartridge fuse holders and spliced in automotive fuse holders (Mouser 504-BK/HHG).

Phil - AD5X

The power cord that came with my new IC-7000 has automotive type fuses.
I wonder of these fuses are as carefully characterized as the industry standard fuses.


Title: RE: LOW OUTPUT POWER, ICOM 7000
Post by: W5WSS on November 11, 2013, 09:57:00 AM
Yeah I also suspected voltage drop through the THP supplied fuse in series with the power cord from the power supply to the back of the HL 450b what I found is the current was not arriving either. Obviously I used a muli meter to read the voltage drop at The amplifier and was always monitoring the current read at the supply,  and during the deficiency noticed below minimum output and lowish current on the amp meter. Not a power supply problem but rather limited both voltage and current after the supply.

As Martin I too investigated the supply cord and fuse harness....the resistance varies with inadequate spring load pressure.

I revamped the cord system using power pole connectors rated for the job and all is well now with the amplifier output power.

That is to say even though 14vdc was present at the amplifier the current was not being properly applied via a resistance through those fuses.

73


Title: RE: LOW OUTPUT POWER, ICOM 7000
Post by: K8AXW on November 15, 2013, 08:14:14 AM
Whenever sending a piece of gear back for warranty service, you should always include the power cord, mic and any other accessory that is/wasbeing used with the radio when the problem(s) occur.

It would have been embarrassing at the very least if he had sent the 7000 back for repair without the power cord and have the factory tech say, "ain't nuthin wrong with the radio." 

Then the operator fires it up and behold, there's the problem again!

Al - K8AXW


Title: RE: LOW OUTPUT POWER, ICOM 7000
Post by: W8MIS on February 20, 2014, 05:46:42 AM
Just had the same problem with my IC7600 I noticed that the power output dropped on 40 from 100 CW to 70 CW.  Tested the 35 amp supply it was at 13.8 and only a small drop when under load say .1 or .4 drop.  I have the same spade connectors on the push in fuse as the 7000.  I removed the fuse and cleaned and then applied pressure to the plastic housing and pressed the connector's together and reinstalled the fuses again now have the 100 percent power output I had before.  Most likely will change the fuse holders to the older style as the IC 7600 even draws more than the IC 700 (same fuse housings.)

W8MIS


Title: RE: LOW OUTPUT POWER, ICOM 7000
Post by: VE3FMC on February 20, 2014, 01:02:24 PM
Just had the same problem with my IC7600 I noticed that the power output dropped on 40 from 100 CW to 70 CW.  Tested the 35 amp supply it was at 13.8 and only a small drop when under load say .1 or .4 drop.  I have the same spade connectors on the push in fuse as the 7000.  I removed the fuse and cleaned and then applied pressure to the plastic housing and pressed the connector's together and reinstalled the fuses again now have the 100 percent power output I had before.  Most likely will change the fuse holders to the older style as the IC 7600 even draws more than the IC 700 (same fuse housings.)

W8MIS


Hi Larry

Although I no longer own my Icom 7000 I did change those spade fuse holders to standard fuse holders. Once I did that I never had any low power issues. My FT-950 has spade fuses and I have never had any trouble with them over the past 4 years.


Title: RE: LOW OUTPUT POWER, ICOM 7000
Post by: N2ZRI on April 27, 2015, 12:03:11 PM
Had the same low output problem (80 watts on all bands) with my IC-7600. Cleaned the spades of the fuses. Now back up to 100 watts. Thanks everyone for your posts.


Title: RE: LOW OUTPUT POWER, ICOM 7000
Post by: VE6BTC on March 28, 2016, 02:32:06 PM
that's retarded lol    my 857d will run well below 12v full power this icom gets much lower then 12.7 it derates now the fuse issue ? thats retarded lol but im sure glad some one else figured this out so i didn't have to because i would have never thought to even try looking there i minute of work with some sand paper popped the fuses back in and from 50 back up to 100w.....

how sad

\
cheers,
ve6btc