eHam

eHam Forums => Computers And Software => Topic started by: VE3VID on December 18, 2011, 08:43:44 PM



Title: Need RealTek driver(s) for XP
Post by: VE3VID on December 18, 2011, 08:43:44 PM
I converted a Windows 7 PC back to XP.  The operating system is running fine, but I dont have the driver for the network adapter.  Every website I have gone to has not had it.  I am looking for:

RealTek   RTL8029(AS)

assistance would be greatly appreciated, thanks

David


Title: RE: Need RealTek driver(s) for XP
Post by: KK2DOG on December 19, 2011, 09:16:08 AM
After I reinstalled XP, I had a couple of things that didn't work. Running this fixed my issues:

  http://support.microsoft.com/fixit/

  http://fixitcenter.support.microsoft.com/Portal/WhyFixIt


                 Mike KK2DOG
             www.hamwave.com


Title: RE: Need RealTek driver(s) for XP
Post by: KQ6EA on December 19, 2011, 12:20:38 PM
You should be able to get a 'generic' driver from the RealTek website.


Title: RE: Need RealTek driver(s) for XP
Post by: K3DCW on December 19, 2011, 02:01:40 PM
Really, in this case, Google is you friend...not eHam.

Found in 10 seconds:

http://www.realtek.com/downloads/downloadsView.aspx?Langid=1&PNid=10&PFid=15&Level=4&Conn=3&ProdID=23&DownTypeID=3&GetDown=false&Downloads=true#221

The drivers can be downloaded from here.  Just scroll down to the appropriate section and download the Windows drivers.


73

Dave
K3DCW


Title: RE: Need RealTek driver(s) for XP
Post by: W8JX on December 19, 2011, 02:20:34 PM

RealTek   RTL8029(AS)


This is a pretty old chipset.

Try this

http://www.download3k.com/Drivers/Network/Realtek/Download-Realtek-RTL8029-AS-Driver.html (http://www.download3k.com/Drivers/Network/Realtek/Download-Realtek-RTL8029-AS-Driver.html)


Title: RE: Need RealTek driver(s) for XP
Post by: VE3VID on December 23, 2011, 07:13:17 AM
 ;D
problem solved
thanks for the help


Title: RE: Need RealTek driver(s) for XP
Post by: AD6KA on December 23, 2011, 10:45:13 AM
Quote
I converted a Windows 7 PC back to XP.
I am considering doing this, is it difficult?

Nothing but problems since I got the Windows 7 machine.
Lots of ham software doesn't work anymore,
or the way it should (Including WriteLog, my RTTY
Contesting program for 12 years running).
I backed up my QSO's in every format imaginable
(ADIF, Cabrillo, txt, etc) onto CD's & thumb drives.
I go to reload them into HRD and Award Tracker
software and it looks like I've lost (or they can't read)
over 10,000 QSO's.10,000!

This is driving me bonkers, and I am not real computer
savvy. I need a ham computer guru who lives in the
So Cal area.

TNX ES 73, Ken  AD6KA


Title: RE: Need RealTek driver(s) for XP
Post by: KQ6EA on December 23, 2011, 10:54:09 AM
Ken, if it's a newer PC, you might have problems getting drivers for XP.
Anything with a plug-in card is probably OK, but for things that are built-in to the motherboard it might be hard.
Best way would be to get a list of the hardware (video, audio, Ethernet and motherboard chips) and then check the manufacturers website to see if they have XP drivers.
What brand of PC is it?


Title: RE: Need RealTek driver(s) for XP
Post by: W8JX on December 24, 2011, 07:20:44 PM
Quote
I converted a Windows 7 PC back to XP.
I am considering doing this, is it difficult?

Nothing but problems since I got the Windows 7 machine.
Lots of ham software doesn't work anymore,
or the way it should (Including WriteLog, my RTTY
Contesting program for 12 years running).
I backed up my QSO's in every format imaginable
(ADIF, Cabrillo, txt, etc) onto CD's & thumb drives.
I go to reload them into HRD and Award Tracker
software and it looks like I've lost (or they can't read)
over 10,000 QSO's.10,000!

This is driving me bonkers, and I am not real computer
savvy. I need a ham computer guru who lives in the
So Cal area.

TNX ES 73, Ken  AD6KA

Newer is not always better but I would not down grade to XP. It is a bad move on new hardware and unnecessary. I know a guy that downgrade a quad core Intel with 4 gig from Win7 64 bit to XP32 bit and it is a slug at times and and does not use CPU or hardware properly.  Basically kinda a cluster fart. What you need to do is UPGRADE to Windows 7 professional or higher and on a 64 bit platform with at least 4 gig of ram but 6 to 8 desired. The reason for this is that it allows you to download, Install and run WinXP in a virtual session for old apps that do not run on 7 or Vista. When you do this you will be running XP as a task under 7 (or Vista) and XP will be none the wiser. You need this legacy support because 7 like Vista has no support for old 16 bit or poorly written 32 bit windows apps that will run under XP.  Blame program not OS here.  Also the reason you want 64 bit is virtual sessions eat some memory and 32 bit OS can only see and use 3.2 gig. 64 bit OS can see far more and makes virtual sessions a snap and transparent on good hardware.