eHam

eHam Forums => Remote HF Station Control => Topic started by: W8BNL on June 25, 2012, 07:31:57 AM



Title: Station ID using "Remote Hams"
Post by: W8BNL on June 25, 2012, 07:31:57 AM
Here is a question for all you Part 97 guru types. If a Canadian Ham is using "Remote Hams" to communicate and the "Remote" station is located in the United States - - shouldn't that Canadian operator have to comply with the USA rules of having to ID every 10 minutes? What's your opinion or take on this?

73 de W8BNL - Tom


Title: RE: Station ID using "Remote Hams"
Post by: AA4PB on June 25, 2012, 10:27:50 AM
The U.S. station licensee has the ultimate responsibility for ensuring that his station is operated in accordance with all FCC rules, including the 10 minute ID requirement.


Title: RE: Station ID using "Remote Hams"
Post by: AA4PB on June 25, 2012, 12:19:28 PM
From the RemoteHams rules: "You, as the licensee, are responsible for all transmissions from your remote station, just as you are responsible for your home station [97.213(c)]. This responsibility applies all the time, even if you share the control operator duties with other amateurs."


Title: RE: Station ID using "Remote Hams"
Post by: N1ASS on June 25, 2012, 06:18:42 PM
Do they also have to id N1ASS Remote via my remote ( N1ASS - Remote Hams ) since they are using it?????Thanks Bill / N1ASS.73.......
BillN1ass@gmail.com


Title: RE: Station ID using "Remote Hams"
Post by: AA4PB on June 26, 2012, 06:28:42 PM
Unless you have some type of auto ID on your remote, they do. If they don't then you are held responsible.


Title: RE: Station ID using "Remote Hams"
Post by: N1ASS on June 27, 2012, 07:57:52 AM
Thank you,73.........Bill  :)


Title: RE: Station ID using "Remote Hams"
Post by: KE2TR on July 15, 2012, 02:16:20 PM
N1ASS did you pay for that call ;D I like it, lol.


Title: RE: Station ID using "Remote Hams"
Post by: WB5ITT on February 17, 2013, 03:52:56 PM
Do they also have to id N1ASS Remote via my remote ( N1ASS - Remote Hams ) since they are using it?????Thanks Bill / N1ASS.73.......
BillN1ass@gmail.com

1) YOU or a control operator licensed by the FCC must be monitoring the station at all times while under remote control and have the ability to terminate any transmissions and shut down the station..Hams not licensed by the FCC cannot be "control ops" of a US station BUT they can use it provided a legit control op is monitoring. In the case of a non US user, this may fall under 3rd party rules....which have limitations on who they can talk to, etc.
2) When your station is being used in remote control, only the station ID must be given...UNLESS the control op who is using it has a higher class of license than you and is operating in their class subbands (IE: you are General and they are Extra and using your station in the Extra class bands). THEN they must ID their call VIA your call...Other than that, only the primary station callsign needs to be given. No Remote, etc is required by Part 97.