eHam

eHam Forums => Repeaters => Topic started by: KC2ZPK on November 09, 2012, 07:35:47 AM



Title: Source for shielded audio cable for repeater controller?
Post by: KC2ZPK on November 09, 2012, 07:35:47 AM
Tile says most of it. I am looking for ideas for shielded audio cable that I can solder into s 9 pin subd connector. I was thinking of finding some small audio cables from radio shack, then cut off the connectors and just use the wire, unless there is a better source for abot 4 feet of cable?

Thanks


Title: RE: Source for shielded audio cable for repeater controller?
Post by: W9GB on November 09, 2012, 10:36:10 AM
How many conductors do you need??

Jameco sells a 4 and 9 conductor with shield.
http://www.jameco.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/Product_10001_10001_644383_-1

http://www.jameco.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/Product_10001_10001_644412_-1
==
Heil Sound sells Heil wire -- Shielded audio (1-wire & shield), plus 2 conductors for DC voltage or signaling.
http://www.universal-radio.com/catalog/cable/2645.html
==
Guitar Center retail stores have a variety of audio cables.


Title: RE: Source for shielded audio cable for repeater controller?
Post by: WB6BYU on November 15, 2012, 11:39:53 AM
RG-174 coax (or one of the Teflon variants) works for a single shielded wire.


Title: RE: Source for shielded audio cable for repeater controller?
Post by: KB1GTX on November 19, 2012, 02:26:52 PM
use a computer monitor cable,,It can free and has usually 5 mini coaxes in the loom!


Title: RE: Source for shielded audio cable for repeater controller?
Post by: NA4IT on December 01, 2012, 05:11:19 AM
Don't forget serial cables (9 conductors + shield) or parallel cables (25 conductors + shield). If you get creative, and need a DB-9 or DB-25 connector, and cut carefully, you can salvage the connector, but will have to destroy the rubber hood.


Title: RE: Source for shielded audio cable for repeater controller?
Post by: K1DA on December 05, 2012, 10:12:12 AM
Try Parts Express.com


Title: RE: Source for shielded audio cable for repeater controller?
Post by: K4JJL on December 05, 2012, 02:21:06 PM
I wired all mine with CAT-5 and RJ-45s.  I used patch panels to connect all the voter equipment.  If I want to add another receiver, just plug it in the patch panel, set the levels and go.  Most people would gasp, but, knock on wood, haven't had any issues.