eHam

eHam Forums => Elmers => Topic started by: KB3KCJ on January 27, 2013, 02:07:20 PM



Title: FT-101EE Power Output Adjustment
Post by: KB3KCJ on January 27, 2013, 02:07:20 PM
There seem to be as many tuneup procedures for the 101EE as there were radios made.  My question is:  How far can I advance the "CARRIER" control on the front of the rig for maximum output?  It now reads full output at a setting of "9".  Is that too much? Thanks


Title: RE: FT-101EE Power Output Adjustment
Post by: AC5UP on January 27, 2013, 02:21:20 PM
The effectiveness of the carrier control may vary from band to band with lower numbers (less rotation) needed on the lower bands.  You'll also find the radio is capable of more power on the lower bands (100+ Watts) and maybe 80 to 85 Watts on 10 Meters.  This is a characteristic of hybrid rigs and given the age you should expect the radio to have a little extra personality...


Title: RE: FT-101EE Power Output Adjustment
Post by: KB3HG on January 27, 2013, 08:03:22 PM
Additional note: when you advance the carrier watch your Ic on the meter. its been since the early 90s since I loaded one up.
Tom Kb3hg


Title: RE: FT-101EE Power Output Adjustment
Post by: WA3SKN on January 28, 2013, 07:55:59 AM
FYI... please remember this is a tube rig, with 2 tubes in the final with 35 watt rating, you might not want to get too much power out!  Tube life could suffer.
Follow the manual and you should be OK.
73s.

-Mike.


Title: RE: FT-101EE Power Output Adjustment
Post by: KG6YV on January 28, 2013, 03:13:09 PM
Keep the plate current under 400ma and you should have a long life with those finals. 

Greg


Title: RE: FT-101EE Power Output Adjustment
Post by: N6AJR on January 28, 2013, 08:54:54 PM
and you can preset the controls close, but tuning off freq a tad to only hiss, the tune all the plate load and such for loudest hiss.  tune back on freq and you will usually only have to tweek it a bit. tune for peak power out at the power level you want (carrier insertion level ?)  I have had several over the years, but I just don't remember.  join the Fox Tango groop on yahooooooooo


Title: RE: FT-101EE Power Output Adjustment
Post by: AC2EU on January 28, 2013, 09:28:48 PM
and you can preset the controls close, but tuning off freq a tad to only hiss, the tune all the plate load and such for loudest hiss.  tune back on freq and you will usually only have to tweek it a bit. tune for peak power out at the power level you want (carrier insertion level ?)  I have had several over the years, but I just don't remember.  join the Fox Tango groop on yahooooooooo

keep the tube current within limits, dip the plate, etc as already stated. However, the thing that surprised me on my FT101E was that the preselector played a big part in the tx tuning as well.

These radios actually require an "operator" , lots of knobs to twist as one moves up and down the bands. No broad band amp!
I pull it it out once in a while when I want that "retro" feeling. These rigs have excellent rx and tx audio. I get unsolicited compliments when I use it. That never happens with my FT450AT!


Title: RE: FT-101EE Power Output Adjustment
Post by: G3RZP on January 29, 2013, 03:36:51 AM
In the FT101 series (like most tube rigs of that era), the tuned circuits in the receiver front end ('preselector') are also used in the driver circuits of the tx. That's why the 'preselector' affects tx power.


Title: RE: FT-101EE Power Output Adjustment
Post by: KE4DRN on January 29, 2013, 06:54:03 PM
hi,

take a look at this topic, the tip from WB2WIK, Steve,

introduce a source of negative DC voltage into the ALC input pin
on the accessory connector (rear panel).

many of us do this with our kenwood hybrids.

http://www.eham.net/ehamforum/smf/index.php?topic=40670.0

73 james