eHam

eHam Forums => Amplifiers => Topic started by: K4HS on February 28, 2013, 08:42:27 PM



Title: Connecting New FT-950 to and Old Ameritron AL-1500
Post by: K4HS on February 28, 2013, 08:42:27 PM
I have been inactive for about 15 years and just got a new FT-950 as I am getting back on the air.  Not sure how to interface the FT-950  with the RCA jacks for the relay and ALC on the AL-1500 (which I probably need to clean as it has not been used).  Do I use the 8-pin Tuner port on the 950 or the 10-pin Linear port on the 950 and do I have to make two RCA male plugs to connect either the 8-pin or the 10-pin to the amp.  Ideas?  I'm a bit rusty.

Randy
K4HS


Title: RE: Connecting New FT-950 to and Old Ameritron AL-1500
Post by: K2DC on March 01, 2013, 03:20:05 AM
Randy,

  It's all on p. 14 of the FT-950 manual.  Use the 10-pim Linear port on the rig.  Pin 2 goes to the center conductor of the RCA plug on the linear end, and Pin3 to the sleeve.  If you intend to use ALC, the center pin of its RCA plug goes to Pin 9, and the RCA sleeve goes to the sleeve of the Linear connector.   There is a Yaesu part number for a premade cable (T9207451), but apparently it comes with nothing connected on the Linear end so you'll have to add your own RCA connectors.  It's all in the manual.  The AL-1500 uses 12VDC relays, so a direct connection is safe and you don't need any additional interface.

73,

Don, K2DC


Title: RE: Connecting New FT-950 to and Old Ameritron AL-1500
Post by: K4HS on March 01, 2013, 01:17:13 PM
Don:

Thank you so much for your prompt response  - I hadn't got the manual yet, but that's basically what I figured out since posting this last night.  Will download the manual to verify. 

Best of 73's

Randy
K4HS


Title: RE: Connecting New FT-950 to and Old Ameritron AL-1500
Post by: KB5UBI on March 01, 2013, 06:19:19 PM
If you don't use ALC, you can use pin 2 of the "Tuner" 8 pin mini din connector. The 8 pin mini is easier to find than the 10 pin and pin 2 on both are tied together. I found an 8 pin in my junk box and use it to connect my FT-950 to my AL80B.


Title: RE: Connecting New FT-950 to and Old Ameritron AL-1500
Post by: K4HS on March 01, 2013, 08:18:55 PM
Thank you Stephen.  I can't remember if I used the ALC on the AL1500 when I ran it with an FT-990 about 12-15 years ago.  I honestly don't know whether it's worth it or not since I can't even remember if I used it.  Perhaps since you are not using it may suggest it may not be worth it.

Appreciate your input.

Randy
K4HS


Title: RE: Connecting New FT-950 to and Old Ameritron AL-1500
Post by: K0CWO on March 01, 2013, 08:37:56 PM
I do not use ALC with the AL-1500 although it may be wise to do so since the 8877 requires 50-60 watts of drive to produce 1500 watts out.  I pay close attention to drive power and have not seen the need to use ALC.

73, BJ
k0cwo


Title: RE: Connecting New FT-950 to and Old Ameritron AL-1500
Post by: KB5UBI on March 02, 2013, 06:15:06 PM
I don't use the ALC on my FT-950 / AL-80B combo. No need to with only 100 watts drive and an AL-80B.

KB5UBI