eHam

eHam Forums => Antennas and Towers and more => Topic started by: K1SND on March 14, 2013, 09:09:22 AM



Title: Can new ground radials be placed over existing radials
Post by: K1SND on March 14, 2013, 09:09:22 AM
I have a 18HT Hy Tower vert up for over 30 years and have noticed many of the ground radials have broken.  Can I add new radials over the existing radial field to replace the broken radials or will this cause an interaction with the old radials.  Have not noticed much reduced performance using the 18HT as is but seeing all the broken radials just dosen't seam right.  Or if it ain't broke leave it alone. Hi Hi


Title: RE: Can new ground radials be placed over existing radials
Post by: KB3Z on March 14, 2013, 09:22:30 AM
When I installed my DX Engineering Vertical I was told that the radials should not touch each other. Considering that you are attaching them to a ground plate, I would think that if you would break the connection at the ground plate on the bad radials and attach the new wire to the ground plate you shouldn't have an issue.  But I will be anxious to see what other ham's will say.  Mark KB3Z


Title: RE: Can new ground radials be placed over existing radials
Post by: NH7O on March 14, 2013, 11:01:23 AM
I would not worry about it, IMHO. Even a disconnected radial will increase the conductivity in the small area around it, so it is still active to some degree. Touching is not a problem, people sometimes use meshes or chicken wire. The potential difference between two wires close to each other in an on-ground radial field will not be so high, unless you are dealing with extremely poor, dry conditions. And surface corrosion will set in quickly to insulate the wires anyway. I use insulated wire for radials, which is preferable in my situation. More durable.



Title: RE: Can new ground radials be placed over existing radials
Post by: K1SND on March 14, 2013, 01:40:02 PM
Thanks for the replys.  I ordered some parts to do the upgrade from DX Eng and in their info they state not to zig-zag or cross over existing radials.  My existing radials are buried so there will be earth seperating the old from the new.  I am planning on laying out the new radials on the grass before it starts growing in the spring and pinning them down like I did the original radials, letting the grass grow up and around the new radials.  I think this should be OK.


Title: RE: Can new ground radials be placed over existing radials
Post by: K1CJS on March 14, 2013, 03:26:49 PM
I do believe that DX Engineering instructions refer to crossing the existing radials of another installed antenna, not the existing radials that you're seeking to replace of a single antenna installation.  Just disconnect the existing radial field and connect to the new one.  I don't think anything else would be required.


Title: RE: Can new ground radials be placed over existing radials
Post by: K1SND on March 16, 2013, 12:42:45 PM
Thanks for all the info, I feel  confident that my radial project will do the trick, thanks again, K1SND 73's