eHam

eHam Forums => Mobile Ham => Topic started by: KK4PVQ on April 04, 2013, 07:15:26 PM



Title: linking HT to truck mount
Post by: KK4PVQ on April 04, 2013, 07:15:26 PM
I thought I read somewhere you can link two hams, my question is can I and or what would I need to link a FT60 to my 2900 in my truck..I live in the country the 2900 picks up repeaters good but the handheld is hit and miss..any direction to more info on this would be appreciated.


Title: RE: linking HT to truck mount
Post by: KG4RUL on April 04, 2013, 08:08:52 PM
Linking two "hams" is really tough.  However, linking two ham radios would be doable except for the fact that your truck radio is 2M only.  You need a dual-band radio that has cross-band capabilities, that could be accessed on UHF using your FT60.  If you step up to a Kenwood TM-V71A, you can also change the memory channel on the radio using DTMF commands.


Title: RE: linking HT to truck mount
Post by: KK4PVQ on April 04, 2013, 08:25:25 PM
ok thanks...I was just wanting this till I get HF for the house..probly just wait