eHam

eHam Forums => DXing => Topic started by: N4CR on April 11, 2013, 07:03:29 PM



Title: Tuning up on DX
Post by: N4CR on April 11, 2013, 07:03:29 PM
What is it with these idiots that tune up on the DX frequency.

We haven't had conditions with India in years. So as soon as someone is spotted, guaranteed pileup with India barely above the noise. And what happens next? Someone tunes up on the DX frequency.

So I asked them to please tune up off the DX and I get told "Shut up, Lid" by they guy tuning up.

By the way, there WERE a bunch of polite hams tuning 3kHz up and down.

By the time he stops tuning, which was really excessively long, a couple of minutes, the conditions are gone.

How pathetic.


Title: RE: Tuning up on DX
Post by: AD9DX on April 11, 2013, 07:06:35 PM
I don't get it either. I tune my amp in to a dummy load, like I assume all responsible hams do. I would think there is only one reason to do so... To elicit a negative response from other hams. 

To be perfectly honest, YOU are just as much to blame as the tuner upper guy though.


Title: RE: Tuning up on DX
Post by: N4CR on April 11, 2013, 07:07:56 PM
My request took 2 seconds and caused no more interference than everyone who was calling the DX.

Unless you are referring to feeding the troll. Guilty I guess.


Title: RE: Tuning up on DX
Post by: AD9DX on April 11, 2013, 07:12:56 PM
My request took 2 seconds and caused no more interference than everyone who was calling the DX.

Unless you are referring to feeding the troll. Guilty I guess.

Both... You could have jumped on someone who was trying to hear his call and you feed the troll.


Title: RE: Tuning up on DX
Post by: K0IZ on April 11, 2013, 07:17:22 PM
I don't think these guys are tuner-uppers, but QRMers.  Seems in the last few weeks (at least on 20M ssb) that some very long "tuners" seem to land on almost anything somewhat rare.  There can't be that many amps that need that much tuning.  Hams that need to get a life, or be locked up in their closet.


Title: RE: Tuning up on DX
Post by: N4CR on April 11, 2013, 07:24:24 PM
Both... You could have jumped on someone who was trying to hear his call and you feed the troll.

I at least timed it so I asked him during the pile up and not during the listening phase. I could easily tell when the pile up was on.

Once he started up, nobody heard the DX. The DX was 20 dB or more down for me. And he continued to tune for another minute after. When he stopped, the DX was gone and there was no pileup calling the DX. If he was still there after that, I would have continued to hear the pileup. I was hearing people in Canada, Panama Canal and Eu working him. And then nothing. Tune up and down the band and the band is still alive.

This was just a rude ham raining on the parade.


Title: RE: Tuning up on DX
Post by: W6GX on April 11, 2013, 08:16:51 PM
I have a button on my radio called 'DNF'.  It works very well on SSB.  This problem won't go away anytime soon.  So it's up to us and the radio manufacturers to come up with a solution.

73,
Jonathan W6GX


Title: RE: Tuning up on DX
Post by: N4CR on April 11, 2013, 08:26:37 PM
I have a button on my radio called 'DNF'.  It works very well on SSB.  This problem won't go away anytime soon.  So it's up to us and the radio manufacturers to come up with a solution.

I had autonotch on, but he was desensing me.


Title: RE: Tuning up on DX
Post by: K0YQ on April 12, 2013, 07:49:09 AM
I don't think these guys are tuner-uppers, but QRMers.  Seems in the last few weeks (at least on 20M ssb) that some very long "tuners" seem to land on almost anything somewhat rare.  There can't be that many amps that need that much tuning.  Hams that need to get a life, or be locked up in their closet.

I agree.  It has absolutely nothing to do with tuning up.  It's malicious QRM.

I vote for locked up.  :)


Title: RE: Tuning up on DX
Post by: VK3HJ on April 12, 2013, 09:36:42 AM
A competent operator can do a final, on air tuneup with his PA in a couple of seconds. There is no need to do it exactly on the DX frequency. Notch filters don't help when the tuner-upper is zero beat with the DX.
The tuner-upper is either stupid or malicious.
I vote for summary execution.
But No Torture, ok?
73,
Luke VK3HJ


Title: RE: Tuning up on DX
Post by: NU4B on April 12, 2013, 09:40:34 AM
I wonder if people realize on CW its easy to tell who they are after they tune up on the DX freq. and then start calling? If they do its amazing that people would want to present themselves to the world in that manner. "Hey everybody, I'm a(n) __________"(fill in the blank)!


Title: RE: Tuning up on DX
Post by: K0YQ on April 12, 2013, 10:13:34 AM
The tuner-upper is either stupid or malicious.
I vote for summary execution.
But No Torture, ok?
73,
Luke VK3HJ

I'm generally against torture too.  How about post-execution torture only for those offenses deemed malicious?


Title: RE: Tuning up on DX
Post by: KB2FCV on April 12, 2013, 01:15:32 PM
I wonder if people realize on CW its easy to tell who they are after they tune up on the DX freq. and then start calling? If they do its amazing that people would want to present themselves to the world in that manner. "Hey everybody, I'm a(n) __________"(fill in the blank)!

ugh, I did that once by accident. A week or so after our daughter was born I was in a bit of a sleepless haze trying to work a dxpedition.. got a few friendly and not so friendly emails as a result..


Title: RE: Tuning up on DX
Post by: AJ4RW on April 12, 2013, 01:49:47 PM
I brought this topic up in my Christmas wish list for the past 2 years since I started chasing DX.  Call it QRM or idiot tuner uppers but the offenders don't read these forums.  If the truth be known, they probably have a difficult time reading anyway.  And if you have a decent antenna system, give it up.  There's no filter available that could reduce most tuner uppers signal enough to make hearing the DX station possible.  I just grit my teeth, turn the volume down and tolerate the idiot.

Randy


Title: RE: Tuning up on DX
Post by: KF6ABU on April 12, 2013, 02:03:26 PM
dumb people do dumb things...


Title: RE: Tuning up on DX
Post by: NU4B on April 12, 2013, 02:17:38 PM
I wonder if people realize on CW its easy to tell who they are after they tune up on the DX freq. and then start calling? If they do its amazing that people would want to present themselves to the world in that manner. "Hey everybody, I'm a(n) __________"(fill in the blank)!

ugh, I did that once by accident. A week or so after our daughter was born I was in a bit of a sleepless haze trying to work a dxpedition.. got a few friendly and not so friendly emails as a result..

I actually feel embarrassed when I do something dumb on the air. I was wondering if I was the only one who did.


Title: RE: Tuning up on DX
Post by: W9KDX on April 12, 2013, 02:29:05 PM
I agree, these people seem to be just intent on blocking QSOs as much as they can.  Some don't even bother to pretend to be tuning; I have heard just plain noise coming through a mike.

It took me less than a month to learn how to tune up in just a few seconds.  Minutes of "tuning" is just plain rude, reminding me of the CB heydays of the 1970s.


Title: RE: Tuning up on DX
Post by: AD9DX on April 12, 2013, 04:03:03 PM
I agree, these people seem to be just intent on blocking QSOs as much as they can.  Some don't even bother to pretend to be tuning; I have heard just plain noise coming through a mike.

It took me less than a month to learn how to tune up in just a few seconds.  Minutes of "tuning" is just plain rude, reminding me of the CB heydays of the 1970s.

Now they are all hams  >:(


Title: RE: Tuning up on DX
Post by: AH6RR on April 12, 2013, 05:58:37 PM
I was trying to work Egypt last night and he was just above ESP level 2X3 and some QRM'er put a carrier on the same frequency as the SU2 station for over 2 minutes. I need Egypt for ATNO along with a few other Middle East countries it always seem that when I hear them some jerk does this or they QSY to a band I can not hear them on. Same thig happened with Palestine when I could hear them. It is pure QRM and nothing more. As for tuning up I use a dummy load and make fine adjustments as I am calling the DX it takes less than a second or 2.