Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: digipan and vista  (Read 2837 times)
KC7CWQ

Ignore
« on: January 31, 2009, 03:22:02 PM »

I had been using Digipan with XP for several years.  I just got a new Vista machine, home basic, 32 bit and SP 1.  Since I no longer have a serial port, I now have a signaLink USB with premade cable for my IC718.  I downloaded a new Digipan and it worked fine, until I turned off the computer and restarted, now, no print.  I have uninstalled and reinstalled Digipan and the usb drivers.  Same condition.  No print after a restart.  The vista machine is mine for the next several years, at least.  
Is there something I am missing in Digipan?
Can you suggest a software that is compatible with what I have to operate PSK 31?
Thanks and
Loren
kc7cwq
AA4PB

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2009, 03:42:16 PM »

Try right-clicking the icon and select "run as administrator". In Vista programs have "rights" and if digipan doesn't have administrator rights it may not be able to write to its configuration file so that every time you restart the program it is back to the default settings and may not be able to find the port.

I've run into this on a couple of different "legacy" programs. There is also a Vista setting that can disable this security feature and make it run more like XP with all programs.
KC7CWQ

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2009, 04:04:01 PM »

Bob, The r-click works!
thanks.  Where can I find the Vista setting?
Loren
AA6YQ

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2009, 06:25:05 PM »

If you enable Vista's "account named administrator" and then log into this account, you will have the same rights as you do as administrator of an XP system. For instructions on doing this, see

http://www.dxlabsuite.com/dxlabwiki/InstallVista

Dave, AA6YQ
N4HRA

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: February 01, 2009, 03:41:09 AM »