The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Newbie's question about DX clusters? Spots?  (Read 2607 times)
KC0ODY

Ignore
« on: January 28, 2003, 02:54:55 PM »

Hi there,

I'm a new General class operator and I just picked up an HF rig. I want to try my hand at some DX in the near future.

I have been trying to figure out something though. What exactly is a "DX cluster" or "DX spot"? When I read these clusters, they appear to be entries from someone's personal log. I can figure out what some of the things in the entries are... i.e. callsigns, frequencies, time/date etc., but I'm curious about some of the commentary that accompanies the entries (such as S2 on, monk apollo deaf as an angel, just jesting). They are cryptic to me and I wonder what these comments mean?

Thanks! Jackie
NI0C

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2003, 05:43:34 PM »

Jacky,
DX clusters are digital communications networks (via Internet or VHF/UHF packet radio) that link DX chasers like myself together in order to share information.  "DX spots" are notations made by DX'ers announcing callsigns/frequencies/times of DX stations heard or worked.  For receiving such spots, I use the "DX Summit" web site of OH2AQ.  This gives information world-wide, and is updated every several minutes.  If you want to transmit as well as receive DX spots you will need a software package that does this.  I use DXBase by Scientific Solutions for all my logging and DX cluster activity.  The accuracy and quality of the DX information on the clusters varies of course, and a few operators use/abuse the clusters for whining and complaining about signal quality and operating ability of others.  Although you can certainly pursue DX without the Clusters, they can help you assess propagation conditions, and otherwise gather information useful in the pursuit of DX.

73 de Chuck  NI0C
NI0C

Ignore