Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: HRD and IC-756 Pro 3  (Read 2175 times)
N4ECM
Member

Posts: 10




Ignore
« on: August 23, 2015, 05:08:56 PM »

Hi everyone.  I'm new to digital modes though I've been hamming for 36+ years.  I recently retired and am trying new stuff and wanting to get back to some CW as well.  My problem right now is how to get the IC-756 Pro 3 to connect to HRD (free version--will get paid one if this works well.)

I have a SignaLink USB connected and have made a couple of contacts on BPSK31 on 20m.  It is connected to ACC1, 8-pin DIN on the 756 and to a USB port on the computer.  (I used ACC2 for hooking up the amplifier.)  There is no RS-232 port on my computer, only USB, HDMI, etc.  How do I get HRD to connect with the 756?  Do I need the CT-17, CIV Level Converter from Icom or can I connect through the Signalink connection somehow for this?  I would like to connect my computer for more control and logging.  My computer is an HP laptop, Pavilion dv7, Windows 7x64, 6GB RAM, i7 Intel Quad core @1.6GHz.

Thanks for any help and advice.
73,
Don, N4ECM
Logged
AD7VB
Member

Posts: 6




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2015, 05:22:17 PM »

Pretty sure you will need a USB to CI-V adapter if you want to control the radio. I would strongly suggest something with a FTDI chipset such ashttp://www.amazon.com/Valley-Enterprises-Chipset-Two-Way-Programming/dp/B004L0T4UM. Other places have similar adapters. Stay away from adapters with a prolific chipset too many counterfit ones out there.

73,

Todd
Logged
KD8MJR
Member

Posts: 5057




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2015, 05:57:52 PM »

Yes what Todd said, you need a converter cable.
Also save yourself some work and get the 30 day trial version of HRD 6 after you get the cable, that way you don't have to configure and learn the setup twice.  The new version is light years ahead of the old version and has a lot of changes in configuration and operation.

73s
Rob
Logged

“A lie can travel half way around the world while the truth is putting on its shoes.”  (Mark Twain)
N4ECM
Member

Posts: 10




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: August 23, 2015, 08:24:15 PM »

So then you're saying I need to buy the Icom CT-17 interface? (They say you need to supply RS-232C cable from CT-17 to your computer.  I assume I could get a cable with the RS-232C on one end and a USB on the other that will plug into my computer?) Since there is no USB port on the IC-756 Pro 3, I assume this is the only way to get HRD to connect?

Thanks, but still not sure exactly what I need.  I don't necessarily want complete rig control, just basic control as HRD would allow.
Logged
AD7VB
Member

Posts: 6




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: August 23, 2015, 10:03:57 PM »

Forget about the ICOM CT-17 interface unless you want to control more then one radio at a time. Just get the cable I linked or similar. It will go from your computer's USB port direct to the CI-V port on the radio. I also second getting the newest version of HRD.

73,
Todd
Logged
N4ECM
Member

Posts: 10




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: August 23, 2015, 10:22:28 PM »

Ok, great!  thanks a lot.  I really didn't want to spend $145 for the Icom CT-17.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!