The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Setting up a shack PC for the first time. What software do you love???  (Read 4927 times)
KRAZZZ

Ignore
« on: April 04, 2016, 01:02:50 PM »

Hello, newbie here. Just got my general so I am looking to get into HF. I have a PC tower with dual monitors that I plan on using in the shack. I have a budget of about $500 for a HF transceiver so I don’t think I will be able to get one with a PC interface (If I’m mistaken please send some models for me to keep my eyes open for.) There are so many software programs out there for the PC that it’s a little overwhelming. I’d love to hear what the top 3 or 4 programs are that you can’t live without. I for sure want to use it for logging and satellite tracking. I would also be interested in a spectrum analyzer, SDR receiver.

Update: My PC is running Windows 7. It is a quad core with 8GB of RAM and will have high speed internet as well.
« Last Edit: April 04, 2016, 01:24:53 PM by KRAZZZ » Logged
KD8MJR

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2016, 11:57:14 AM »

If you want everything in one package, including satellite tracking then you will need HRD 6.x
There is freeware software out there but HRD decodes just about everything and covers just about all the bases in one package.

73s
Rob

“A lie can travel half way around the world while the truth is putting on its shoes.”  (Mark Twain)
K7EXJ

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2016, 12:43:53 PM »

FLdigi, WSJT-X are both free (open source) and available for Linux and WIndows.

Rigblaster Nomic for $50 will interface the PC and rig. $50. It's also good for portable (SOTA, IOTA, NPOTA, etc.) ops.

Those two software packages will do all the digital modes (PSK-31, Olivia, RTTY and the JT modes as well as WSPR).

Make sure you buy your transceiver first before you buy the Nomic so you can get the right cables.

73s de K7EXJ
Craig Smiley
N0IU