Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Can't get old PK232 to connect/link with Computer  (Read 3420 times)
W0XX
Member

Posts: 1543




Ignore
« on: April 07, 2016, 06:46:52 PM »

Have a PK-232, it boots itself up correctly, but can't get it by the host mode check (using PKTERM99), as it has a communication error with the computer.  Darn if I can remember what or how to work this thing. 

Can't remember how to get the computer to op as a dumb terminal either....went into hyterminal, but no joy that route...

Any help?
Logged
KS2G
Member

Posts: 795




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2016, 07:19:58 PM »

The Operating Manual may help:

http://www.repeater-builder.com/aea/pk232/pk232mbx-operating-manual.pdf

Instructions for connecting to computer are in Chapter Two.

Logged
W0XX
Member

Posts: 1543




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2016, 09:22:05 PM »

Yeah, got that, but it isn't connecting to the computer...I am wondering if there is something in the RS232 port on the 232 that is defective...can't get anything in hyperterminal either..
Logged
KD8GEH
Member

Posts: 617




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2016, 11:03:57 AM »

Pointing to the right comm port?

Logged
W0XX
Member

Posts: 1543




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2016, 02:25:54 PM »

Yep
Logged
AA4PB
Member

Posts: 14421




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: April 08, 2016, 04:54:08 PM »

If you have HyperTerm up and running when you power up the PK232 they you will see a line of garbage characters. That's an indication that your baud rate is not set properly. Type an asterisk * to set the PK232 to the same baud rate as Hyperterm.

Do you have a real RS-232 port on your computer or are you using an RS-232 to USB adapter?
 
Logged

Bob  AA4PB
Garrisonville, VA
W9GB
Member

Posts: 3161




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: April 09, 2016, 08:08:29 AM »

As I remenber, the AEA PK-232 Multi-Mode Controller (and TNC)
used the 1488/1489 as the RS-232 line driver/receiver pair for the DB-25 connector on the Rear Panel.
https://en.m.wikibooks.org/wiki/Serial_Programming/MAX232_Driver_Receiver#MC1488_and_MC1489

The 1488/1489 was widely used for RS-232 ports in early 1980s,
especially for serial port "add-on" cards (IBM Serial Port card; AST Six-Pak) for the IBM PC.

These ICs can fail, due to ESD events at RS-232 port, OR power supply events (surges, loss regulation).
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!