Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: QSLs from Canada  (Read 547 times)
KI6EAA

Ignore
« on: November 19, 2007, 09:28:16 PM »

I am new at this....

I wanted to sent a couple QSL cards out to stations I worked in Canada, hoping for a reply. I will send SAE, and am trying to figure out the best approach for postage.  I can send an IRC if that is best, but I would rather locate a source of Canadian postage, perhaps trade US postage with a Canadian ham. Any thoughts?
KE5HOB

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2007, 11:46:54 PM »

I'm pretty sure that U.S. postage to reach Canada. I remember QSL'ing a ham in Ontario and used regular U.S. postage with no problems. Try looking on the USPS site to see if the territory your contact is in is a US postal region.
AF3Y

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2007, 04:14:01 AM »

OK... 69 cents US postage will get an envelope,card & SASE, etc. to Canada.  Current exchange on the US vs. Canada dollar is pretty close, so sending $1US should get it returned to you. I guess you could send a $2 IRC if you are so inclined. However, $1 US has always worked for me. Hopefully, the US dollar wont drop too much further.  73, Gene, AF3Y
VA3XQ

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2007, 06:15:39 PM »

.99 cents is the cost of postage for a card from Canada to the US.
W2IRT

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2007, 07:54:53 PM »

$1 is not enough any longer. Their government taxes postage stamps (!), so a .99 cent stamp is reality would cost $1.05, if my math is correct -- plus the fact that one US dollar is worth LESS than a Canadian dollar these days and add in the fees the banks charge to exchange money. I'd suggest $2 USD or 1 IRC. Mint stamps are ideal.