The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Tarheel II Sudden High SWR All Bands  (Read 1660 times)
AE7VA

Ignore
« on: April 16, 2017, 01:59:47 PM »

I've sent this to Tarheel tech support, but while I'm waiting for a reply, I was wondering if anyone on this forum had an ideas.

I've been using the little Tarheel II successfully for over the last three years in the bed of my Ford F-150, mounted very similar to the pictures on the Tarheel website.

The SWR has now started reading infinite across all frequencies and I can't figure out why.  I was wondering if you had any ideas on what to check. Here's what I checked so far:

1. Coax. Checked still installed in the vehicle. Attached the SWR analyzer to the radio end of the coax and a dummy load to the antenna end and got a perfect 1:1 across all frequencies. So that appears okay.
2. I've replaced the SO-239 connector at the antenna and insulators to see what would happen and no change.
3. I've removed the ground strap and cleaned all the surfaces and reinstalled.  Resistance at highest was 1/2 ohm at all connections at various points along the path.  I could not find any ground problem to the bed of the truck (steel bed).
4. Just to be safe, I replaced the ground strap with a new one. Same 1/2 ohm readings.
5. I gently cleaned the coil per the instructions and the whole unit moves easily and freely up and down. It was actually very clean to start with, not sticky, no black streaks, still shiny etc.
6. Ensured that the connection end of the whip is clean and that the hole it seats in is also very clean. Set screw is tight.
7. The core on the control wire is wound as close to the antenna as possible per the instructions. I even went and added two more cores for safe measure.