The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 3 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: I'm new to CW, and need to know what device can send for me.  (Read 4889 times)
AC0UD

Ignore
« on: June 08, 2017, 05:43:27 PM »

I've just finished the CW Ops class, which was great, but I'm getting tired of keying "CQ CQ CQ DE ..."  What do I need to do this for me?  I have an IC-7200, which is connected to my Mac.  I don't have any ham radio software for my computer yet, but I would imagine there is some piece of hardware or software that I can use to send the repetitive portions.  Can someone educate me?  Thanks!
KE6EE

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2017, 06:38:00 PM »

Many keyers have memory functions.

That said, if sending CQ is repetitious one wonders why. It might have to do with your rig and antenna, propagation, judgement about band conditions and a lot of other considerations.

Some of us who think of CW as an art don't bother to answer CQs sent automatically.
AC0UD

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2017, 07:37:45 PM »

Good point, I hadn't considered that.  I'm still learning, so finding someone who answers is still hard for me.  I definately don't know what frequencies to use.  I am considering a new antenna or two so I can open 40-80 meters up as an option.
K1HMS

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2017, 08:06:39 PM »

I've just finished the CW Ops class, which was great, but I'm getting tired of keying "CQ CQ CQ DE ..."  What do I need to do this for me?  I have an IC-7200, which is connected to my Mac.  I don't have any ham radio software for my computer yet, but I would imagine there is some piece of hardware or software that I can use to send the repetitive portions.  Can someone educate me?  Thanks!

If you can not find software for your radio that will do what you are asking a WinKeyer from K1EL is very popular. It also works well with the contest logging software from n1mm.