Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: Prev 1 [2]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Logging software advice  (Read 2834 times)
VA3VF
Member

Posts: 608




Ignore
« Reply #15 on: June 17, 2017, 06:56:38 AM »

I just use Windows 10 since it logs everything I do whether I want it to or not.

You must have 11BDXCC, and be in the Honour Hall by now.  Grin Grin Grin

73 de Vince, VA3VF
Logged
WB4M
Member

Posts: 245




Ignore
« Reply #16 on: June 21, 2017, 12:58:47 PM »

I use and recommend DXKeeper, which is part of the DXLabs suite of programs.  Uploading, downloading and matching QSL's via LoTW and eQSL are just 2 or 3 mouse clicks.  Automatically tracks many different awards at the same time.   Interfaces with a number of digital programs such as MixW, FLDigi, and WSJT-X.
My second favorite would be LOG4OM.   

I echo what another poster said, there are many logging programs available, most are free, so no need to pay for one.  Try some and find one you like, but I have tried the great majority of them and think you will find DXKeeper and LOG4OM the top contenders and both are free.
Logged
KE0JWA
Member

Posts: 4




Ignore
« Reply #17 on: July 16, 2017, 06:50:54 AM »

I have an IC-7300 and have been using Ham Radio Deluxe but with all the bad press and the way the owner of HRD treats his customers I am trying to go to something else like DXLab software.

I downloaded the DXLab software and it is a frigging nightmare trying to get it to work. Is anyone with a 7300 actually using it and could you give me some tips on the setup? I looked for some Youtube videos but all I found was K0PIR using it with a MAC...that was no help.

Thought about using LOG4OM but then would have to use FLDIGI and couldn't get it to work either.

I used to have a lot of hair.....it's all pulled out now  Cheesy.

Thanks for any help. 

Randy
KE0JWA
Logged
VA3VF
Member

Posts: 608




Ignore
« Reply #18 on: July 16, 2017, 07:02:36 AM »

I have an IC-7300 and have been using Ham Radio Deluxe but with all the bad press and the way the owner of HRD treats his customers I am trying to go to something else like DXLab software.

I downloaded the DXLab software and it is a frigging nightmare trying to get it to work. Is anyone with a 7300 actually using it and could you give me some tips on the setup? I looked for some Youtube videos but all I found was K0PIR using it with a MAC...that was no help.

Thought about using LOG4OM but then would have to use FLDIGI and couldn't get it to work either.

I used to have a lot of hair.....it's all pulled out now  Cheesy.

Thanks for any help.  

Randy
KE0JWA

I use Logger32. It's possible to integrate with FLDIGI by using the L32-FLDIGI Gateway by N2AMG, but you can use MMVARI or MMTTY from Logger32.

73 de Vince, VA3VF
Logged
AC7CW
Member

Posts: 893




Ignore
« Reply #19 on: July 16, 2017, 05:12:33 PM »

I have an IC-7300 and have been using Ham Radio Deluxe but with all the bad press and the way the owner of HRD treats his customers I am trying to go to something else like DXLab software.

I downloaded the DXLab software and it is a frigging nightmare trying to get it to work. Is anyone with a 7300 actually using it and could you give me some tips on the setup? I looked for some Youtube videos but all I found was K0PIR using it with a MAC...that was no help.

Thought about using LOG4OM but then would have to use FLDIGI and couldn't get it to work either.

I used to have a lot of hair.....it's all pulled out now  Cheesy.

Thanks for any help.  

Randy
KE0JWA

I get on the air with RCForb and a remote station. I tried integrating LOG4OM and fldigi and really had to just stop. Only HRD will easily integrate with RCForb and is fully documented by the RCForb community. LOG4OM might have a nice look and feel but it's not quite ready for prime time in a few ways
Logged

Novice 1958, 20WPM Extra now... (and get off my lawn)
AA6YQ
Member

Posts: 2602


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #20 on: July 17, 2017, 12:27:07 AM »

I have an IC-7300 and have been using Ham Radio Deluxe but with all the bad press and the way the owner of HRD treats his customers I am trying to go to something else like DXLab software.

I downloaded the DXLab software and it is a frigging nightmare trying to get it to work. Is anyone with a 7300 actually using it and could you give me some tips on the setup? I looked for some Youtube videos but all I found was K0PIR using it with a MAC...that was no help.


Step-by-step instructions for configuring DXLab Commander to control your IC-7300 are here. As you have joined the DXLab Yahoo Group, don't hesitate to post questions or concerns there; all questions are welcome, no matter how many times they've already been asked an answered.
Logged
AA6YQ
Member

Posts: 2602


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #21 on: July 17, 2017, 12:32:01 AM »

Only HRD will easily integrate with RCForb and is fully documented by the RCForb community. LOG4OM might have a nice look and feel but it's not quite ready for prime time in a few ways

DXLab works with RCForb; see http://www.remotehams.com/forums/index.php?topic=1048.0 .
Logged
KE0JWA
Member

Posts: 4




Ignore
« Reply #22 on: July 17, 2017, 06:45:06 AM »


Step-by-step instructions for configuring DXLab Commander to control your IC-7300 are here. As you have joined the DXLab Yahoo Group, don't hesitate to post questions or concerns there; all questions are welcome, no matter how many times they've already been asked an answered.

Thanks...this is just what I needed....getting started on it now.

Randy
Logged
AC7CW
Member

Posts: 893




Ignore
« Reply #23 on: July 17, 2017, 08:05:35 AM »

Only HRD will easily integrate with RCForb and is fully documented by the RCForb community. LOG4OM might have a nice look and feel but it's not quite ready for prime time in a few ways

DXLab works with RCForb; see http://www.remotehams.com/forums/index.php?topic=1048.0 .

That seems to indicate that I'd have to buy the ORB control device before i could use DXLab
Logged

Novice 1958, 20WPM Extra now... (and get off my lawn)
AA6YQ
Member

Posts: 2602


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #24 on: July 17, 2017, 08:53:52 AM »

Only HRD will easily integrate with RCForb and is fully documented by the RCForb community. LOG4OM might have a nice look and feel but it's not quite ready for prime time in a few ways

DXLab works with RCForb; see http://www.remotehams.com/forums/index.php?topic=1048.0 .

That seems to indicate that I'd have to buy the ORB control device before i could use DXLab

In http://www.remotehams.com/forums/index.php?topic=1048.0, WA0TPN states " I downloaded the DXLabs software and had it working with RemoteHams within a few minutes with no problems on my Windows 8.1 tablet while away from home in a hotel."
Logged
AC7CW
Member

Posts: 893




Ignore
« Reply #25 on: July 17, 2017, 10:33:02 AM »


[/quote]

In http://www.remotehams.com/forums/index.php?topic=1048.0, WA0TPN states " I downloaded the DXLabs software and had it working with RemoteHams within a few minutes with no problems on my Windows 8.1 tablet while away from home in a hotel."
[/quote]

The post right above that one seems to indicate that the ORB device is necessary. I don't have one but so far I've gotten Commander to talk to RCForb in simulated K3 mode.
Logged

Novice 1958, 20WPM Extra now... (and get off my lawn)
AA6YQ
Member

Posts: 2602


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #26 on: July 17, 2017, 10:49:14 AM »


In http://www.remotehams.com/forums/index.php?topic=1048.0, WA0TPN states " I downloaded the DXLabs software and had it working with RemoteHams within a few minutes with no problems on my Windows 8.1 tablet while away from home in a hotel."

The post right above that one seems to indicate that the ORB device is necessary. I don't have one but so far I've gotten Commander to talk to RCForb in simulated K3 mode.

I don't believe an ORB is necessary, as your results above seem to confirm. I haven't used remote access via remotehams, but several DXLab users besides WA0TPN have reported success in doing so. I've sent you an invitation to join the DXLab Yahoo Group; feel free to post a message there asking for experience reports.
Logged
Pages: Prev 1 [2]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!