Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: What should the idling pa current be on FTDX 3000  (Read 4650 times)
KE2TR
Member

Posts: 613




Ignore
« on: June 16, 2017, 11:49:34 AM »

What should the idling pa current be on FTDX 3000 in the SSB mode with no modulation?
Logged
DL8OV
Member

Posts: 754




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2017, 01:02:26 PM »

Want to know why over 460 people have viewed this post and there are no replies?

You can't download the ^;*%)$! service manual!

All of my usual sources have come up blank so I spent an unhappy half an hour on Google. Lots of sites pretend that they have the service manual but when you actually try to download it you either hit a brick wall or your PC gets infected with various trojans and viruses. Yaesu do not have the service manual for download on their site.

So, I'm sorry to say that the answer to your question is 'I have no idea'. Try contacting your dealer.

Peter DL8OV
Logged
W8JX
Member

Posts: 12080




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2017, 08:30:13 PM »

Found link below in 10 seconds

Click Here
Logged

--------------------------------------
Ham since 1969....  Old School 20wpm REAL Extra Class..
GM1FLQ
Member

Posts: 794




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: June 19, 2017, 05:20:39 AM »

What should the idling pa current be on FTDX 3000 in the SSB mode with no modulation?

.........if latter day models are anything to go by - very possibly not what it was set to when leaving the factory........  Undecided
Logged
DL8OV
Member

Posts: 754




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: June 19, 2017, 09:35:01 AM »

To W8JX

Yes, that was one of the links I tried. I clicked on the 'I am not a robot' box then did a few of their little puzzles clicking on various squares, I was then allowed to click on the 'Download' link but his then gave the message 'Wrong code Try again'

After trying a few times I gave up and moved on to the next site.

Peter DL8OV
Logged
KE2TR
Member

Posts: 613




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: June 19, 2017, 11:45:35 AM »

The funny thing is I already have the service manual but all I really wanted is what others who own the same radio read on there IP current meter on the radio when its in the SSB mode and no modulation. my radio reads 3 amps, I was wondering if others who have the same radio might be the same and that was it.
Logged
GM1FLQ
Member

Posts: 794




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: June 19, 2017, 11:46:34 AM »

What should the idling pa current be on FTDX 3000 in the SSB mode with no modulation?

.........if latter day models are anything to go by - very possibly not what it was set to when leaving the factory........  Undecided

.......or what it was supposed to be set to before leaving the factory.......  Shocked

« Last Edit: June 19, 2017, 11:54:31 AM by GM1FLQ » Logged
KB8GAE
Member

Posts: 218




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: June 20, 2017, 05:00:17 AM »

The funny thing is I already have the service manual but all I really wanted is what others who own the same radio read on there IP current meter on the radio when its in the SSB mode and no modulation. my radio reads 3 amps, I was wondering if others who have the same radio might be the same and that was it.

My 3K reads 4 amps.

73's Rich KB8GAE
Logged
K6BRN
Member

Posts: 450




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: June 20, 2017, 05:06:12 PM »

Mine reads about 2.8 Amps at 14.076800 MHz, unmodulated.

Brian - K6BRN
Logged
KE2TR
Member

Posts: 613




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: June 21, 2017, 06:49:16 AM »

Thanks guys, anyone else who wants to chime in that would be great, I at least know if my PA bias is on the hot side or not cause an under biased PA would lead to poor IMD and I just dont feel like taking the radio apart to adjust the bias or I should say to place an amp meter on the test points for adjustment which is done via the service menus.
« Last Edit: June 21, 2017, 06:52:37 AM by KE2TR » Logged
GM1FLQ
Member

Posts: 794




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: June 22, 2017, 03:30:56 AM »


Wise to check.........apparently a lot of 857/897s were all over the place straight out the factory.
Logged
5P0O
Member

Posts: 5




Ignore
« Reply #11 on: June 28, 2017, 05:26:14 AM »

I always look for manual on http://www.mods.dk   

There you can download one item a day.

5p0o, Steen
Logged
ZS5WC
Member

Posts: 629


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #12 on: July 13, 2017, 10:42:56 PM »

All the latest rigs including the FTDX-3000 use the Mitsubishi RD100HHF1 mosfet in a push pull pair.
Quiescent bias for a single device used in single ended amp is given as 1A
It does not mention on the data sheet what class of bias that is for.
My guess it would be for SSB service, AB1 Class as this FET was designed purely for this service.
Each device is capable of 100W output but this of course does not mean we can run the pair at 200w output!.

So for two devices in push pull the static bias would be 2A, and given most FT3K's are biased to 3A, would mean a slightly cleaner output IMD wise.
PA is conservatively rated which is a good thing as the FETS are not run flat out.

73 de William
ZS4L / ZS5WC
Logged
ZS5WC
Member

Posts: 629


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #13 on: July 13, 2017, 10:45:24 PM »

 :)I forgot to mention the DRIVER bias current would also be added into the 3A equation.
so 3A would be just fine.
Logged
KC4ZGP
Member

Posts: 1637




Ignore
« Reply #14 on: July 18, 2017, 09:13:06 AM »


Connect an ammeter and read current drawn.

You're a ham radio guy. You can do it.

Richtig Peter?

Kraus
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!