Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Teamviewer audio for remote control  (Read 15729 times)
K0IZ
Member

Posts: 926




Ignore
« on: January 03, 2018, 06:31:01 PM »

I currently use Skype for my receive/transmit audio for my K3.  I also on occasion access the PC at the K3 with Teamview.  I tried using the audio function of Teamviewer as an alternative to Skype.  I was able to transmit but cannot heard the K3 audio.  Basically all the same setup as with Skype, which works fine.  Anyone had a similar experience with Teamviewer?
Logged
K9AQ
Member

Posts: 112




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2018, 07:48:47 AM »

I also normally use Skype, but have also used Teamviewer's audio for my second receiver.  I find it very confusing to setup but once it is, it works very well for listening.  I have never tried it for transmit audio. 

73,

Don
K9AQ
Logged
AF5CC
Member

Posts: 343




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2018, 07:21:14 PM »

I am glad to find this thread as I was just getting ready to check into Teamviewer to see if it could pass audio.  I installed it on my shack computer and tablet yesterday. I really don't need to worry about the transmit audio as I will use the voice keyer memories and CW memories in my TS2000.  The ARCP 2000 software lets you select those memories.

What I need is to be able to get the receive audio from the radio on my tablet.  I tried Skype but it wouldn't work on the shack computer.  What are the tricks to get Teamviewer to send the receive audio to the remote computer?

73 John AF5CC
Logged
K9AQ
Member

Posts: 112




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2018, 05:47:45 AM »

You have to first go to "extras" on the TeamViewer start up screen and select you sound card.  Then on your virtual desktop go to "communicate" and make sure that computer sound is checked, and call by internet is highlighted.

Once you have it working it has good sound quality, and it is stereo if your radio has a second receiver.

Good Luck,

Don
K9AQ
Logged
K0IZ
Member

Posts: 926




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2018, 05:04:58 PM »

Just got back to trying Teamviewer again for audio. 

Here's my problem:  Using my PC headset, I am able to transmit on the K3.  Remote speaker bar doesn't show any indication but K3 audio is ok.  However cannot hear the K3 on my headset.  However at the Remote the mic indication on Teamviewer is showing good audio coming from the K3.

So Teamviewer is getting audio from the K3 but for some reason I am unable to hear it at the client (operator) end.


Here's my setup:  PC at operator, Win10, latest 13.xx teamviewer.  Audio conferencing options selected default mic and speaker (same as I use for Skype).
At radio (k3), PC Win10, also latest 13.xx Teamviewer.  Teamviewer "Communicate" set for computer sound, VOIP, mic unmuted.

Anyone have ideas?   John.

Logged
K9AQ
Member

Posts: 112




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: March 29, 2018, 05:46:48 AM »

John,

I wish I could help, but when ever I have tried to use Teamviewer for remote audio I have problems with it.  I have been able to get it to work by accident.  It is not user friendly to get working.  I have operated remote for over 5 years and always end up going back to Skype. 

Don
K9AQ
Logged
K0IZ
Member

Posts: 926




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: March 29, 2018, 07:21:56 AM »

Thanks, Don.  I have had my remote setup for 8 yrs, all using Skype.  But my K3 has sub receiver so I thought using Teamviewer would allow stereo audio.  With Skype the two receivers' audio is mixed.

The confusing thing is that I can see the K3 receive audio showing up in the virtual PC in the Audio Conferencing, Voice Input, Signal bar.  But doesn't somehow make it to my PC Teamviewer.

John.
Logged
K9AQ
Member

Posts: 112




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: March 30, 2018, 05:51:48 AM »

I also have a K3, and have been testing different ways to get the sub rcvr audio. I have tried Teamviewer and Rem Aud, both which have stereo audio. Rem Aud also provides a PTT footswitch, which I use.  I can't however get good sounding transmit audio with Rem Aud, Skype is much better.  I am going to try Teamviewer again and I will let you know if I get it working.

73,

Don
K9AQ
Logged
K0IZ
Member

Posts: 926




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: March 31, 2018, 03:11:10 PM »

Thanks, Don.  Here is a recap of my situation, in case it might help.

Unable to hear audio FROM virtual PC.  Audio TO virtual PC OK.
Local PC setup:
   Teamviewer, options, audio configuration:
   Voice Input, Vol Max, mute unchecked.
   Signal bar moves with audio into PC (via mic)
   Noise Threshold – Auto
   Audio TO virtual PC OK (ie, K3 will transmit).

   Voice Playback – clicking >, can hear ping
        But no audio FROM virtual PC

Virtual PC
   Same options setup as Local PC.
   Voice Input, signal bar moves with audio into virtual PC (IE, K3 audio output is getting to Teamviewer)
   Teamviewer, Communicate:  Checked Computer sound.  Call Via Internet.  Start Internet Call
   Audio FROM Local PC OK

Latest Teamviewer software, Ver 13.1.1548.   Win10, latest updates on local and virtual PC’s.  Kaspersky Total Security software.
Also tried with Local laptop running Win7.  No difference.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!