Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Best First HF Transceiver Recommendation?  (Read 4865 times)
KB4UTZ

Ignore
« on: December 02, 2001, 08:39:44 AM »

Elmers... you have helped me in finding great 2m rigs and antennas and now I'm turning to you again regarding an HF rig... :-)

I'm currently a Tech Plus and am studying for my upgrade to (at least) my General class. I already own an Icom-2100H and a Yaesu FT-50; however, I do not yet have an HF rig. I know this question has been asked many times before, but I would like some guidance from those of you with the years of know-how and experience...

Which HF rig would you recommend as a "first HF radio"? Most of my hamming will be during the evening or early mornings. I'm not an electronics whiz but I do alot of work with computers and will likely be interested in digital communications at some point. Also, ham radio is not my only hobby so I don't have a ton of money to spend on a rig. I am also definitely considering used equipment. Bottom-line is I would like a rig that is rock solid, dependable, would give years of enjoyable service if I don't decide to replace it, and yet is a radio that has enough quality and features that "whets my appetite for more" and keeps me involved in ham radio.

Too much to ask out of one rig??

Any suggestions, comments, feedback, etc., etc., would be greatly welcomed.

73s,

Kirby
Douglasville, GA (outside of Atlanta)
KF4HEY

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2001, 09:10:42 AM »

Kirby,