Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Testing a 4CW10000(Y442) without socket???  (Read 1665 times)
KD7YQM
Member

Posts: 71




Ignore
« on: August 07, 2008, 12:10:43 PM »

I recently acquired this bad boy and I really can't think of any way to do any preliminary testing on it without a $400 socket.
I've checked the usual continuity of filament and shorts between elements and all looks good.
Another thing is that this thing will draw 75 amps @7.5v.
Not exactly an easy to find transformer.
Sounds more like a welder;)
Thanks for any ideas.
Dennis
Logged
K4DPK
Member

Posts: 1077


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2008, 02:33:41 PM »

Dennis...

Is that a coaxial base?

I have several rings from large sockets.
 
Give me the diameters and I'll see if I have the rings/finger stock that fit.  I could send them out just to test.  

Phil C. Sr.
k4dpk
Logged
KD7YQM
Member

Posts: 71




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2008, 02:54:08 PM »

Hi Phil
Yes it is a coaxial base. The recommended socket is the SK300A. There's one on ebay for $400. Such a deal.
Eimac gives the ID dimensions for the filament connections as 1.9 inches for the inner and 3.17 inches for the outer contact.
The screen OD is about 4 inches and the grid OD is 3.8 inches.
Let me know what you have and what you want for it. Maybe I could build a socket cheaper. Doubtful though. thanks Dennis
Logged
K4DPK
Member

Posts: 1077


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2008, 05:35:36 PM »

Dennis...

Send me an e-mail, and I'll send you some pix and dimensions.

I'm good in qrz.com

Phil
Logged
WB2WIK
Member

Posts: 20669




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2008, 09:43:41 AM »

$400 for a socket is not a bad deal at all.  This is obviously a water-cooled tube with reservoir and circulator requirements for DI water, as well as enormous power resources required; I think the socket cost is probably the "smallest" investment associated with building such an amplifier!
Logged
AD4U
Member

Posts: 2186




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2008, 10:55:10 AM »

A 4CW10000 (Y442)amp may be difficult to "tame", because it will probably have to be operated in class AB.  This is not a project for a first time amp builder.

If you want to build a big amp, a 3CX10000A7 or a 3CX15000A7 would be a better choice.  It will operate in typical grounded grid configuration, and 1500 watts in should give 15,000 - 20,000 watts out.

CU on 20 meters.

.... ..

Dick  AD4U
Logged
KD7YQM
Member

Posts: 71




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: August 08, 2008, 11:03:39 AM »

You are right on all counts Steve. I just thought I would try to determine the condition of the tube before investing in the spendy stuff. Since the tube only cost me $30 I didn't feel spending $400 on a socket just to test it. Well if that socket is such a good price people should be snapping them up. I don't see that.
Interestingly this tube is physically smaller than the 4-1000 albeit a whole lot heavier.
Funny I just wound me a transformer that is capable of 5kw. I thought it was way too large at 80 pounds. You probably couldn't get half power out of this tube with it. We'll see what I can do with it.
Dennis
Logged
KD7YQM
Member

Posts: 71




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: August 08, 2008, 11:19:41 AM »

Hi Dick
Yes I know this could be a difficult and costly endeavor.
I don't even know the condition of the tube yet. That was  the whole purpose of this thread. The filament tests good with a ohm meter and nothing seems shorted. An emission test would tell the story though.
Being a tetrode I would say this would make a good grid driven amp operating AB1.
At this point I just want to try and get the filament lit.
Dennis

P.S. Anyone have any pics or schematics of this tube being used in an amp? Even a rf heating generator would be interesting to look at.
Logged
AD4U
Member

Posts: 2186




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: August 08, 2008, 11:35:00 AM »

Hi Dennis:

I am writing this with a sneaky grin on my face.

I have learned a little in my 40 years of hamming.  One thing is when you go "horse racing" with the big boys with big amps, I don't care what you have, somebody will have a bigger one.

All this is posted in semi-jest, but in order to power such an amp, you would need at least a dedicated 240 volt 200 amp service.  A suitable filament transformer may be hard to find, and you may have to wind one.  The simplest plate transformer would be a reverse fed 25 KVA power company "pole pig".  

Been there and done that.

Good Luck

Dick  AD4U
Logged
KD7YQM
Member

Posts: 71




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: August 08, 2008, 11:58:54 AM »

I think you are right about the 25KVA pole pig Dick.
Absolute maximum ratings on this tube are 7500v at 3amps
That comes to 22500w
I think about 100amps at 240 should do it.
Boy that should dim some lights, huh?
I guess I don't have to run it at max but considering the 500w filament it would be nice to get a little more than that on output! ;>)
Logged
WB2WIK
Member

Posts: 20669




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: August 08, 2008, 12:32:52 PM »

>RE: Testing a 4CW10000(Y442) without socket???       Reply
by KD7YQM on August 8, 2008    Mail this to a friend!
Hi Dick
Yes I know this could be a difficult and costly endeavor.
I don't even know the condition of the tube yet. That was the whole purpose of this thread. The filament tests good with a ohm meter and nothing seems shorted. An emission test would tell the story though.<

::It will tell something, but not whether the tube is actually good unless you hipot test it or apply full rated plate voltage.  I don't know how long you can dissipate any power before water cooling is required, but probably for "seconds" would be okay.

Logged
WA4ONV
Member

Posts: 51




Ignore
« Reply #11 on: August 10, 2008, 07:08:57 AM »

What ever happened to QRP ops...Huh   lol

Vy 73, Joe
Logged
WA9SVD
Member

Posts: 2198




Ignore
« Reply #12 on: August 12, 2008, 06:42:48 AM »

To SOME people, that IS "QRP."

    But has anyone (else) noticed the electric rates lately???
Logged
K6ELQ
Member

Posts: 24




Ignore
« Reply #13 on: August 15, 2008, 02:36:11 PM »

Here's a link to the SK-300A socket dimensions in case you want to roll your own.

http://www.g8wrb.org/data/Eimac/SK-300A.pdf
Logged
KD7YQM
Member

Posts: 71




Ignore
« Reply #14 on: August 15, 2008, 03:10:41 PM »

Thanks K6ELQ for that info.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!