Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: FL-2100B  (Read 1180 times)
KE5EKO
Member

Posts: 22




Ignore
« on: August 20, 2008, 07:09:07 AM »

I purchased an FL-2100B as my 1st amp and have a question/problem. The amp works fine on 15 thru 80. Voltages/currents all within normal limits and power out is fine. BUT it will not tune on 10m. Someone suggested that the 10m mod needed to be accomplished. I'm having trouble finding that information..Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated....Thanks....Mike
Logged
W5RKL
Member

Posts: 891




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2008, 07:23:35 AM »

I'm not aware of any required 10 meter modifications to the FL-2100B. The only modification I'm aware of is the bias modification required when using Svetland 572B's in the FL-2100B (see the Svetland website for further details).

When you say 10 meters isn't working, what do you mean?

It's possible a previous owner used the FL-2100B on 11 meters and tuned the 10 meter tuned input network for 11 meters. I suggest checking the 10 meter tuned input network first.

73
Mike
W5RKL
Logged
TANAKASAN
Member

Posts: 933




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2008, 08:23:15 AM »

The version without 10m was the FL-2100F, not the FL-2100B. Your problem may be with the bandswitch so have a look at the following URL which may give you some clues.

http://foxtango.org/amplifiers/FL%20Amplifier%20Evolution.htm

Tanakasan
Logged
KE5EKO
Member

Posts: 22




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: August 20, 2008, 05:10:27 PM »

I went thru the tuning procedure in the manual(disconnecting the high voltage-putting an SWR meter between the amp and radio, tuning the coils for the lowest SWR, etc.) but didn't see any variation when tuning the 10m coil...the other coils for the other bands tuned just fine....hope this helps explain my situation....thanks....mike
Logged
W5RKL
Member

Posts: 891




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: August 21, 2008, 08:20:16 PM »

If adjusting the 10 meter coil didn't change the symptoms, then I agree with the Tanakasan, check the band switch. I also recommend check the continuity through the 10 meter coil, it may be open or one lead of the coil may be broken at the band switch.

73
Mike
W5RKL
Logged
KE5EKO
Member

Posts: 22




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: August 22, 2008, 05:29:00 AM »

Thanks to all that replied.....I now have a place to start looking....73....Mike
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!