Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Zero beat for CW using seperate trans and rec  (Read 949 times)
KE1MB

Ignore
« on: August 25, 2002, 02:56:40 PM »

I have a Heathkit HR 1680 and 1681 transmiter and receiver. This is a CW rig. There is a "spot" switch. When I turn on the spot switch I will hear a tone in the receiver. At what point do I have the transmitter and receiver on the same frequency? Do I tune the receiver untill I reach the lowest possable tone untill there is only a reading on the s meter, is this a zero beat? or do I adjust the receiver untill I hear a tone on the speaker. I am new to this and am not really sure how to use a seperate transmitter and receiver for CW.

thanks
Joe
KE1MB
AC5E

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2002, 05:26:14 PM »

Hi Joe: Well, that question brings back memories!

The usual drill back in the 1950's and 60's for those of us with an automatic TR switch was to find a station calling CQ, turn on the VFO (only), tune (spot) the VFO until the VFO was at the same pitch as the desired station, release the tune/spot/vfo switch and turn on the transmitter switch, wait for the other station's K, and then hit the key.

If you did not have either a TR relay or one of EF Johnson's neat tube type TR boxes you usually had to manually switch the antenna from the reciever to the transmitter before you hit the key, otherwise you would fry the RF circuits in the reciever.

And some of the real dyed in the wool CW set would actually unplug the antenna and change it to the transmitter before they could make a call.

Hope this helps you sort it all out.

73  Pete Allen  AC5E
W4TYU

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2002, 02:29:03 AM »

Likewise a lot of memories.  
My method  using SEPARATE transmitting and receiving antennas was:
1. Tune the receiver until the lowest possible tone was heard. This is "zero beat"