Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: packet  (Read 269 times)
W4TZG
Member

Posts: 15




Ignore
« on: October 16, 2002, 07:28:46 PM »

I have new Kantronics KamPlus, my problem, I followed the manuals instruction on wiring to radio VHF, I plug the cable from Kan to radio and it keys radio, I have tried same thing with 3 different radios same thing, kenwood radio TMV7A,TM733a, And azden6000..has anyone run into this kind of problem, after all the checks I've made I now suspect the Kam has internal ground causing problem,  can anyone help...W4TZG
Logged
KX5N
Member

Posts: 2




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2002, 10:19:56 PM »

I had the same problem with a KAM Plus and Kenwood radio. After much reading and searching I found that if I moved jumper K3 everything worked perfectly. Before that, everytime I connected the cables the Kenwood would key up (Alinco and ADI as well). Hope this helps  (from page 63 of the KAM Plus reference manual) 73 de Bob KX5N
Logged
W4TZG
Member

Posts: 15




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2002, 10:59:12 AM »

Thanks Bob for info..question do you remove K3 completly..the article on page 63 says not to connect to PTT on mike plug, is that right..thanks again..w4tzg
Logged
NB6Z
Member

Posts: 550


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2002, 11:39:37 AM »

My first setup with a new KAM+ was with a mobile Yaesu HF radio and I was forced to use the PTT line at the MIC input. It worked fine and I don't see why VHF would be any differrent. On a Yaesu, the PTT requires a pull down to ground; sounds like it was the opposite for your radio?
Logged
KA2UUP
Member

Posts: 388




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: October 18, 2002, 04:13:03 PM »

Dumb suggestion from my part, but you may have wired the plug inversely.  It happened to me.  Just check to be sure.

Bert @ KA2UUP
Logged
KX5N
Member

Posts: 2




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: October 18, 2002, 06:57:14 PM »

I moved the jumper to its alternate position. The manual was not clear so I tried it and it worked great!!! Good Luck..73
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!