Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Heathkit SB 230 Amp. Help please???  (Read 1736 times)
KC9AWN

Ignore
« on: December 24, 2002, 11:58:26 AM »

Hello All,

I am new to this, and this is my first Amplifier, so be gentle with me (HI-HI).

I have pieced together a Heathkit sb 230 HF Amplifier and am having proplems.  I did not know the history of these parts, so I was very detail oriented (you might say anal retentive) about checking all the parts and taking several days to go through the complete assembly manual to ensure all was assembled correctly.

Here's what happened:
I am working the initial checks here, with no coax, radio, antenna, just the stand alone amp.
I am on page 88 of the assembly manual.  Meter zero - GOOD.  Check #1 - all GOOD.  Check #2 pulled wire from pin 3, cover back on, this part goes good, hi temp light works.  replaced wire on pin 3, replaced cover.  Plugged in line cord. Turned amp. on.  I got the delay light, and it went out within the 60-90 second window.

Turned the meter switch to exciter only. The "exciter" light works only in the exciter position, as it is supposed to.

Now is when things go wrong.  I switched the meter to plate, they tell me to find a piece of "hook-up wire" to short out the relay phono socket. So, I found a wire and I am just starting to lean over the cabinet, to reach the relay socket ( I never actually shorted the relay socket out), it is now 15-20 seconds after I swithed to plate, and I see a spark, through the cabinet top in the area of the relay (RY1), I blow a house circuit breaker, also the fuse in the back of the amp blew.

I must state at this point, the fuses I bought were .75 amp fuses, but not slow blow.  I hope that explains my following actions.

I removed the cover, did not smell anything burnt or see any visual damage after a detailed inspection to both sides of the amp.