Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: What would range be?  (Read 685 times)
ANDREW86

Ignore
« on: March 27, 2003, 10:45:13 PM »

Hey.
I'm new to the HAM Radio scene thinking of getting a licence with a friend.

Here is my question. Is it possible to talk to my friend that has a cottage 250km away from my house? How could that be done and what kind of equipment would I be looking at? And how much?

thanks,
andrew
RAD1OMAN

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2003, 11:21:25 PM »

80 or 40 meters would work. COST? how much do you want to spend? Phone, CW, Digital? you can spend $25 or $30 to over $3000.00 or more.
There in no definiative answer for such a broad question.
ANDREW86

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2003, 11:31:55 PM »

Like what is the best equipment for that? I was looking at http://www.aesham.com/display_pages/tmg707a.shtml something that would be small like that. I dont even know what that is but. Im soooo new to this. Could you help me choose something right for me?

--andrew
RAD1OMAN

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2003, 12:15:42 AM »

what license class do you have??
I do not think that you will be able to work your friend 250km away on VHF or UHF FM. Even with a repeater in the middle. You could if you were both using packet radio and knew the path between you. You might be able to work each other using IRLP of there is a node at both ends. But for communications, point to point, HF is the way to go. Cheap is CW. You could use voice but I would use PSK31. But you need a General class license or higher.
WA9SVD

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2003, 02:24:23 AM »

Hello Andrew,
    I hope you'll obtain your Amateur Radio License soon!  But if we don't have a bit more information, it's difficult to predict what propagation will be in effect between your and your friend's location.