Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: U.S.N. VRC-51 TRANSCEIVER (140 MHZ)  (Read 382 times)
KC8ZBT
Member

Posts: 3




Ignore
« on: March 21, 2004, 03:20:23 AM »

I HAVE A U.S.NAVY VRC-51 TRANSCEIVER WITH CONTROL HEAD.
OPERATES ON 138 ~ 141 MHZ AS FAR AS I CAN TELL.
I THINK IT MAY TUNE TO 144...

ANYBODY HAVE INFORMATION ON "THIS OLD TRANSCEIVER" ?

73 !

GREGG

ECLAMPSUSVITUS@HOTMAIL.COM
Logged
N3ZKP
Member

Posts: 2008




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2004, 10:26:46 AM »

I don't know, but your computer keyboard seems broken. The caps lock key is stuck in the ON position.

All caps is very hard to read and is the online equivalent of SHOUTING. Smiley

Lon

Logged
W4TYU
Member

Posts: 518




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2004, 10:42:55 AM »

The poster is simply using a "Western Union" keyboard which is the standard for telegraphers and radio operators. As easy to read as the headlines on a newspaper.
Logged
KG8JF
Member

Posts: 298




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2004, 11:02:15 AM »

get a life!
Logged
KG8JF
Member

Posts: 298




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: March 21, 2004, 11:06:46 AM »

The "get a life" was directed at N3ZKP for his obviously sarcastic remark about the guy using all caps.  I don't know who, in the "letter police", started the rule about all caps, but it does not harm me and perhaps he has a good reason to do it.
Logged
K1CJS
Member

Posts: 6034




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: March 21, 2004, 01:33:15 PM »

Yes, he obviously wants to start a baloney thread.  Would you like some cheese with your whine and baloney?

To answer--
More than likely the rig can be easily converted for use on the ham bands, but I doubt that it could just be used as is.  It would have to be centered and re-aligned for the new range of frequencies--even though that range is just above its current range.
Logged
N6AJR
Member

Posts: 9908




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: March 21, 2004, 06:23:09 PM »

HAVE YOU TRIED A SEARCH ON GOOGLE

if you put it in several ways you might find something.. good luck
Logged
G7HEU
Member

Posts: 261


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #7 on: March 22, 2004, 07:09:17 PM »

Gregg

I did a google search on your radio beacuse I am nosey! I noticed some references to it being used in aircraft. If that's true it might well be AM and not FM ( and therefore prob not much use on 2mtrs ).

Is there some way you can verify the modulation mode before going on a 'wild goose chase'?

In lieu of test equipment, how about using an all mode scanner and a dummy load ( I don't need to type NOT AN ANTENNA do I? )?

Hope that helps,

Steve
M0HEU / G7HEU.

Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!