Long wire antennas?

(1/2) > >>

George Oakes:
I am in a 2 story appt. I can get into the attic, but the complex recently replaces the asphalt shingles for new "Tin" roof on all the buildings.

So an antenna in the attic is now out of the question.
I have a nearby tree that I could probably get some Thin wire into for a fairly invisable long wire.

I have an antenna tunner, and I know I could use a long wire, my question is this.

Is the entire length of the wire the radiating element?
if so, if it touches the "tin" roof will that be a problem.? can I use insulated wire, till I clear the roof, and then go with the invisable stuff? i was thinking 26 guage magnet wire? for the rest of the long wire?

I am fairly new to the concept of long-wire antennas, and I dont know all the properties of this type of antenna.

thanks a bunch

Steve Katz:
I'd make the whole wire antenna from insulated wire, and pick a color that blends in best with the background, whatever that is.

#26 magnet wire is unlikely to last very long outdoors because it's not strong.  A large bird like a crow flying into it, or finding it a challenging place to roost and have some friends over for a visit (yielding several crows all trying to balance on the wire, which they are absolutely amazing at doing) is very likely to simply break the wire.

If the far end is supported by a tree limb or branch, the first windstorm that flexes that limb is also likely to snap the wire, unless the wire has a lot of slack in it to begin with; and the problem with a lot of slack means the wire is hanging down and more visible than a taut wire would be.

An end-fed wire antenna also needs a second conductor for RF return current.  Usually, that's "ground," and an RF ground on a second story of a building can be difficult to achieve, so you might need a second wire, maybe one running around on the floor inside the apartment and connected to the tuner chassis, to make the outdoor wire work.