How do I ground my mobile CB?

(1/2) > >>

Grant:
I'm totally new to this stuff and I don't understand exactly what I'm supposed to do. People on eHAM have given me much appreciated advice, which sounds simple enough, such as "run a coax braid from the chassis to the antenna" but as a newbie, I don't know what to do without a step by-step guide. I have been searching the internet and eHam and I haven't been able to find simple explanation.

For those that haven't read my recent posts, a little background on the way I've mounted my antenna: I just installed a mobile CB radio in my Jeep Cherokee by bolting a small metal plate about 8 inches long and  2 inches wide to the underside of the chassis. The plate sticks out a few inches from the left rear side of my vehicle and few inches in front of my rear bumper. I put an antenna mount in the plate, such that that the mount is a few inches inches from the side of the vehicle. The mount holds a fiberglass antenna. Everyone on eHam keeps telling me I need to ground my system by running a coax cable braid from my antenna to the my chassis, and that I also need to ground the CB radio box itself.

I understand that I'm supposed to attach one end of the braid to the chassis of my car, that is simple. But when you say, "attach one end to the ground side of the antenna mount" or "run a coax braid from your antenna to your car chassis" I have no idea what that means?
Where and how do I attach the antenna-end of the braid? The antenna does not have a bolt or anything sticking out with a big label that says "attach coax braid here."

On the radio box itself how do I ground it? One guy said he ran a wire from the radio box to a self tapping screw that he put through his floor, but he didn't say where on the radio box I'm supposed to attach the wire. Again, I don't see anything on the box asking for a ground wire. I think I'm supposed to hook the ground wire to a screw in the radio case, or maybe the mounting screw?