Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Computer Generated Noise  (Read 212 times)
WB1DJC
Member

Posts: 10




Ignore
« on: July 23, 2005, 06:58:48 AM »

I Just installed a new computer to use just with my ham radio, control, logging etc.  
It Generates so much rf noise about s9 plus 40 and nothing comes through which makes the computer worthless as a control device. Does any one have an Idea on a fix other than moving the Computer to the moon.
Logged
WB1DJC
Member

Posts: 10




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2005, 07:19:38 AM »

Im sorry i bothered to place this with out reading others with simaler problems sorry to have added more words on a subject covered very well earlier
Logged
N6AJR
Member

Posts: 9879




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2005, 12:33:21 PM »

BTW I find laptops tend to be quieter, but I have 2 desk types in the shack and neither  make noise, but when the outside compressor for the air conditioner comes on I get I get a terrible noise on HF...so when the dx fish are running I open the windows.  

Logged
K6AER
Member

Posts: 3468




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2005, 01:29:39 PM »

How close is your antenna system to your radio room? All computers will generate noise. It is a functiion of the antenna distance from the noise source that will reduce your interference.
Logged
KC8VWM
Member

Posts: 3124




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: July 24, 2005, 09:39:47 PM »

Well the moon would be pretty quite I suppose. You might try gounding the computer equipment with your station equipment. It seems to work for me.

I nce read that changing your monitor refresh rate (if safe to do so) might reduce noise levels.

Also consider where your PC power cord is plugged in. It should be in the same AC outlet as your radio equipment. It's apparently a ground loop thing.

73 Charles - KC8VWM
Logged
W0NFU
Member

Posts: 46




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: July 24, 2005, 10:59:42 PM »

Try running a 12 guage wire from the ground terminal of your rig to the case of the computer (not the outer case but get to the inside sheet metal of the computer). This made a world of difference for me.

73 - Larry W�NFU
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!