Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: HF Packet  (Read 285 times)
N1ZHE
Member

Posts: 68




Ignore
« on: November 26, 2003, 09:02:46 PM »

I have a Kantronics KPC-3 Plus and a cable for my Icom IC-706MkIIG.

I used to do VHF packet until it "died" in my semi-rural area.

I got my general ticket and decided to try HF packet. I reset my HBAUD to 300 and went hunting where the band plans say the packet activity should be.

I'll find a good strong signal, find it's center freq, say on 30 meters, then hook up my TNC. But I can't seem to receive the signal in WinPac.

WinPac is communicating with the TNC; I can connect to the built-in PBBS.

Any suggestions?

David, N1ZHE
Logged
ZL2DX
Member

Posts: 2




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2003, 03:44:44 AM »

David,
isn't the KP3+ only a VHF 1200 baud machine?
I don't think it has 300 baud capability.....

73 Chris ZL2DX
Logged
N4CQR
Member

Posts: 566




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2003, 10:31:13 AM »

David,

It has been quiet a while since I used a KPC-3. Check
Monitor, MCOM, MCON. I don't have a manual available but I know for sure the KPC-1 & -2 both would receive HF packet.

Hint, listen on 14.105 LSB

Good luck,

Craig
Logged
N1ZHE
Member

Posts: 68




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: November 28, 2003, 12:19:24 AM »

The KPC 3+ will do 300 baud via the hbaud command.

David
Logged
N5PVL
Member

Posts: 209




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: October 08, 2005, 10:21:23 PM »


Tuning HF Packet signals is critical.. Just a little tiny bit off, and it will not decode any packets.

This article tells how to use a computer with MixW or Digipan to assist in tuning HF Packet signals for your TNC:

http://www.uspacket.org/hfpkt.htm

Easiest of all is to just use MixW for HF Packet and take full advantage of point 'n click instant tuning!

Charles Brabham,  N5PVL

Director: USPacket http://www.uspacket.org
Admin: HamBlog.Com http://www.hamblog.com
---------- HamPoll.Com http://www.hampoll.com
---------- DigiBlog http://www.uspacket.org/digiblog/  
Logged
VA2PHL
Member

Posts: 25




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: November 05, 2005, 02:57:57 AM »

it is not working because the kpc3+ use a 800 hz tone and 300 bauds hf packet is usually 200 hz tone

phil VA2PHL 73
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!