Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: IC706MkIIG-50 foot front panel separation cable?  (Read 387 times)
W2NSF
Member

Posts: 122




Ignore
« on: January 23, 2006, 05:38:40 PM »

My main rig is the IC-706MkIIG.  I'd like to separate the front panel of this tranceiver about 50 feet from the main unit.  My radio shack is in my garage office and I'd like to take the front panel into the house when I close the office, so I can continue to monitor and operate.  The longest separation cable ICOM offers is 16 feet.  I'd like to make a 50 foot long separation cable using larger diameter wires.  Does anyone think this would work?  Should I use shielded wire?  Any other suggestions?
Logged
N6AJR
Member

Posts: 9921




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2006, 06:22:12 PM »

500 feet of cat 5 is only 50 bucks, and a kit for the ends is $25 or so, or go to a computer shop and have them make you one  probably  $25 bucks or so..
Logged
N6AJR
Member

Posts: 9921




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2006, 06:22:36 PM »

500 feet of cat 5 is only 50 bucks, and a kit for the ends is $25 or so, or go to a computer shop and have them make you one  probably  $25 bucks or so..
Logged
W2NSF
Member

Posts: 122




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2006, 05:03:24 AM »

Thanks, Barbara.  
 
CLARIFICATION.  The root of my question is:  Will the signals that travel along this 50 foot cable be degraded (attenuated) so the head unit won't properly operate the transceiver?
 
I was hoping to find someone who had already done this successfully.
Logged
W2NSF
Member

Posts: 122




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2006, 05:04:30 AM »

OOPS!  
 
Sorry, Tom!
Logged
AA4PB
Member

Posts: 12981




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: January 24, 2006, 06:29:48 AM »

I think about all you can do is try it. The biggest problem will likely occur if you have any RF from the antenna being coupled into the control cable so it is likely very installation dependent.

I'd suggest shielded cable in an attempt to keep the RF out.
Logged
W2NSF
Member

Posts: 122




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: January 25, 2006, 04:47:23 AM »

OK, folks.  Appreciate your thoughts.  I already have an extra Cat5e cable running between the office and the main house, so all I have left to do is try it.  Wish me luck and I'll report back here with my findings. 73
Logged
KB4QAA
Member

Posts: 2445




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: January 27, 2006, 12:14:23 AM »

I have a buddy who did the same thing and it worked great for him.  He had the truck in the driveway and could operate from the living room.

I'm not sure what protocol is used for the control.  RS232, nominal 12v, is rated to 50 ft.

Give it a whirl, you've go nothing to lose.

Bill
Logged
KL7IPV
Member

Posts: 984




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: January 28, 2006, 10:24:37 PM »

Where are the ends like those used on the 706 series available? I pretty much thought they were proprietary items and not available from anyone but Icom.
Frank
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!